December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Dust

by Keevor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

While submitting i realize that all there really is, is a tutorial and one sandbox level. It's still nice to have finished something though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#259Fun3.07
#301Innovation3.00
#351Humor2.58
#398Mood2.71
#465Overall2.80
#500Graphics2.60
#508Audio1.93
#603Theme2.60
#948Coolness32%

Comments

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:12am

I cant make it work, it seem web based, can you put it on a sever, so we can play it easily ?

Keevor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:07am

I realy don't know hy it's like that, i'll try to put it into a easier form.

Keevor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:57am

Done!

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:06pm

I had fun killing everyone ! Great that you finished it !

Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:14pm

Haha, the last sandbox level is rather cool ;)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:42am

Surprisingly fun for a bite-sized experience. I actually discovered how to make obsidian before the game officially introduced it, which made the elemental interactions an entertaining discovery.

It's a little confusing at first to understand how the game operates; I didn't understand why the elements were jiggling around like that at first, haha.

Little touches, like being able to eliminate the elements on the main screen, and the particle effect on the goat generation, are charming and awesome.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:54am

The sandbox was great! Glad you kept it, but yeah, most of the game was simply the tutorial, still very cool. You should definitely keep going with it and make some levels! :D

Audio was obnoxious though xD

Keevor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:50am

Thanks guys. It is true that i'm not the best with audio. I'll try and put out a post-compo version with more levels.

Lasty says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:13am

Very cool! Reminds me of Dwarf Fortress or Terraria with the water/lava physics :) Interface was a bit clunky, took a while to figure out how to do things.

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Nice idea. Quite fun to play around with the liquids. Reminds me a bit of those sand-physics games.

Keevor says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:09pm

New version up!

Eniko says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:49am

Cool idea, would be great if you could have more elaborate ways of killing all the people. A sort of evil version of The Great Machine. Either way, it was entertaining. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]