December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You are the Villain

by kampfdengel - Jam Entry

I couldnt add much more features. Please vote after the existing ones. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1150Coolness10%

Comments

nate427 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:08pm

I sorta feel like the graphics were just taken from a free game-asset site without credit. Seems like a good idea, but I could walk on water and there wasn't really any challenge or fun in it.

headchant says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:38pm

Couldn't get this to run on MacOS :( Blank Window with music playing but no graphics.

Cthu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:39pm

Didn't work for me. I heard music, the screen was gray but nothing happened. (Win7/some recent java from yesterday).

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:27pm

Very nice pixel art on some of the characters. A bit glitchy but I liked the idea of the potato thief. The cloud shadows were a nice touch that added depth.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:00pm

Nice. Very cute.

realgenius says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:09am

My first attempt to run the game After extracting the archive resulted in an error message
"Maps\start (The system cannot find the path specified)".
So, I opened a command prompt and tried to execute with javaw -jar game.jar

I get a blank window and music playing in the background.

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit SP1 and all latest updates
Java 7 Update 9 (both 32 and 64 bit).

Hope this helps.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:50pm

I can't run the game. It gives me a white screen with music.

realgenius says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:32pm

I just tested this game in Linux Mint 14 64-bit and also encounter the Blank Window with only music playing. I Also have Java 7 Update 9. Your game is unplayable and you aren't responding to the "bug" reports.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]