December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Hunts Kitten

by edric_garran - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Didn't have time to add sounds =/

I hope it works out of the box on windows as well,
only tested on linux.

* EDIT *

Now the packages are stand-alone
Just run game.exe on windows, or run.sh on linux.

If on any other system, you will need python 2.7 and pygame installed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1048Coolness22%

Comments

netgrind says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:32am

Doesn't seem to be doing anything on my machine when I open game.py (64 bit win7)

ripter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:32am

OSX Lion:

File "game.py", line 3, in <module>
import pygame
File "/Users/****/Desktop/untitled folder/robot_hunts_kitten/pygame/__init__.py", line 95, in <module>
from pygame.base import *
ImportError: dlopen(/Users/****/Desktop/untitled folder/robot_hunts_kitten/pygame/base.so, 2): no suitable image found. Did find:
/Users/****/Desktop/untitled folder/robot_hunts_kitten/pygame/base.so: unknown file type, first eight bytes: 0x7F 0x45 0x4C 0x46 0x02 0x01 0x01 0x00

Red Mike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:54pm

Running it on my Win7/64bit machine also didn't work.

Puffi says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:11pm

Hey the game crashes as soon as I launch it.
Error message here: http://146.255.37.150/puffi/random/robot_hunts_crash

I'm running Xubuntu 12.04 with have pygame 1.9.1

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24pm

Sadly, I also couldn't run it on Win7, 64 bit, Home Edition.

edric_garran says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Sorry folks, I should have made a proper distribution for windows (and tested it). As soon as I can get this crap to boot I'll do it.
@Puffi That's a really weird error, since the image really is NOT a windows BMP file. Do you have the dynamic libpng installed? It's so basic, pygame must not even consider it as a dependency...
Some people had trouble running it on 32bit linux, but I can't help them =/

edric_garran says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:56pm

Just repacked the linux version using cx_freeze, should be more stand-aloney now.

singpolyma says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:34pm

The kittens seem to sort of come out of nowhere and behave erattically. Also, not sure what the win condition is.

LogGiant says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:49am

Although evil, killing kittens was necessary for the robot uprising. I'm not sure how I won, but i did. I guess that's what matters anyways.

metadept says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:24am

Too many kittens; robot cannot hunt them all! I like your sprites a lot, and the charge shot mechanic is cool. Sounds would add a lot to this.

h.attila says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:36am

I have no idea what the win condition is, but I won anyway.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:53pm

I love cats!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 9:44am

I Win! ..? Cute setup and sprites. Evil robot overwhelmed by swarm of kittens.

Raptor85 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:58pm

First off, i LOVE the kitty animation! Didn't seem to have much gameplay going for it though, plus after a moment the kittys spawn out of control. On linux when i ran it it also took over both of my monitors and spanned across multiple desktops, which was very odd.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]