December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

MISSION 1

by zzForrest - 48 Hour Compo Entry

!!NOTICE!!
This entry is not functional, much to my disappointment. Visual C++ does not redistribute, apparently, so I hope to get this stuff fixed before next ludum dare.
Again, sorry.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1048Coolness22%

Comments

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14pm

Downloaded, but the only thing there is in the file is a shortcut, not an executable :/

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:19pm

Yeah, same problem. Favourited so I'll give it another shot when you fix it. :)

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:28pm

it looks nice form the picture but I can't play it. Windows says SDL.dll is not a valid windows copy?

Ramuh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:54pm

Not working =( A bit more effort please

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Not working, man. Shortcut only, tried launching exe - one in Debug says that SDL.dll is missing, the other in Skeleton_Gui says that the application was unable to start correctly (0xc000007b), I'm using win7.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03pm

I'm getting a missing SDL.dll error sadly. Using Win7 Home Premium 64-Bit if that helps out at all?

zzForrest says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:03pm

I don't know why it isn't working...

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Forgot to include the exe, just a shortcut to the exe :(

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Forgot to include the exe, just a shortcut to the exe :(

Sorry... I accidentally submitted this with a 0 score. Meant it to just be a stand alone comment.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:13am

I unfortunately couldn't play your game because SDL.dll was missing. I was able to find the executable, but like others said it would have been easier to find if it was in the root. Please leave a comment on my game if you add the required DLLs, I'd love to try it.

Glad you liked my game so much! And also that you didn't mind the lack of sound. My entry for LD24 really suffered due to bad sound, so I thought it better to leave it out than to deliver a sub-optimal soundscape. :)

zzForrest says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Guys, I found out about the problem. It's with my compiler. I included everything the game needed to run, it's just that the compiler I used ( VC++ ) doesn't have a built in redistribution script. Due to the fact that the entire code is rooted in VC++, I can't redo it or anything. I'm really sorry and I will be changing my compiler to a new one for next time.

Aslai says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:17pm

It worked for me. I just went in to \source\Skeleton_Gui and ran the EXE there.

Overall it was kind of boring. I got to the bigger guys that shoot the red and yellow balls at you, but it got way too repetitive. Maybe increase the charges per rock?

Gazok says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:48am

I couldn't get this working on Windows, so I compiled a Linux version. I've uploaded it here: http://gazokblog.co.uk/misc/mission_1-linux.tar.gz . Despite the compiling trouble, well done!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:57pm

In case you're still trying to get this to work: "The drive or network connection that the shortcut 'mission_1.lnk' refers to is unavailable..."

Also tried what Aslai said but that didn't work.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:49am

Is it possible to get a Mac/Web build of this?

Neonlare says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Didn't get vibes of being super duper villainous in this one, but it was fun! Did enjoy how the game felt as a whole :D.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]