December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Serve The Lord

by galman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Commander!
The situation is bad.
The hero want to invade our city and rescue the queen.
Fight him!
The Evil Dark Lord


Instuction
==========
Buy units, each costs 10 coins.
Select a unit to control using "Q" and "W" or click on it.
Move the unit using WASD or using the arrow keys.
You must not let the hero defeat you and enter the city!
Upgrades your troop by clicking the "upgrade" button.
Try to steal as much coins as you can.
(Warning, upgrades takes effect only on new units)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#272Innovation3.07
#320Audio2.55
#376Overall2.96
#436Fun2.70
#477Humor2.19
#483Theme2.93
#485Mood2.57
#587Graphics2.33

Comments

eli says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Ohhhhhh yeah, let's wipe that grin off those heroes!!

Love the graphics, really great work there. Love the units and their abilities. Really well done and informative (though I am not sure what the beehive guy does).

Ever since I complained it was too hard (on Twitter) now it's far too easy. Having enough money means the difference between throwing your units carelessly at the enemy or managing each one in detail ....

Nice tower-defensish kind of mechanic. I wish there was more meaning to the 2D aspect (right now I just arrange the units in a line).

Fits the theme solidly =)
good luck!

Zed says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:15pm

Once I got going, I managed to get to level 10, which I think is a pretty good achievement. I really liked this, but it's REALLY hard to begin with.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Nice one, I like the concept and the graphics!

maiev says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:10pm

Amazingly addicting game once you figure out how to pass the first 1-2 levels. I really wish the upgrades applied to already spawned units. Once i got used to the game it was really fun trying to hit a balance of what i need to survive and how much i can spend on upgrades. I havne't found much of a use for swordsmen (?) yet since I just use a couple of barrels for a meatshield then a million archers behind them

Patacorow says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:01pm

Very nice! I upgraded my knights and stacked them in order to send an army to kill the good guy!

LogGiant says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 4:34pm

I thought this was a really neat concept! After the first level it got pretty easy though, I would just set a few level 2-3 swordsmen near the middle and run around with the fast short guy collecting coins, then spawn more swordsmen if the guys in the middle die. Eventually I got a dozen with attack around level 20, and couldn't die. I think the combat could use a little balancing, but overall nice job!

1CoinTeam says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 10:52am

Very good concept, the mechanics works great!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:49pm

Neat little game, I like the sprites. Gameplay is solid.
Music is good too.

PaulSB says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Nice! Liked the addition of collecting the coins to the more standard defence game. Found it very difficult though, suddenly lose a few knight guys and I'm screwed. But it feels complete, and I like the colour palette.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:29pm

I like the concept. Most my game play involved running around and collecting coins rather than strategy.

infernet89 says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Nice work, it's quite hard make a gestional in so little time!

WiseGAMER says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:04pm

very fun to play game ,I had reached level 17,but,I realy thought the game wouldn't ever end , it will just keep increasing the hero health and attack so does you have to do with your soldiers ....does it end?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]