December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Wearhouse

by J - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle platformer about infiltrating the bad guy's warehouse hideout. To help you do so, you can change your appearance to look like this bad guy, using his usefully-placed wardrobes.

Use the arrow keys or WASD to move and jump; down/S changes clothes when next to a wardrobe and pulls levers. Press R to reset the current level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#301Graphics3.09
#317Innovation2.96
#320Audio2.55
#422Overall2.87
#485Mood2.57
#545Humor2.00
#567Fun2.39
#662Theme2.35
#694Coolness48%

Comments

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:12pm

needs pygame to run

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Couldn't get past the 4th stage and gave up as the game is very unforgiving.

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:35pm

Very challenging! The moving things are an interesting game-mechanic, it took me some time to figure out that I could stand on them, then the coin dropped and I enjoyed the game!

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:38pm

I thought the sounds and the graphics were amazing. But the gameplay was a little unforgiving which made it quite frustrating espeically in the later levels. but it was very orignal.

caranha says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:04pm

A bit on the difficult side. I liked that you went for a somewhat different interpretation of the theme. The commands are a bit too sensitive, though. The game felt more like getting the execution right, than really figuring out the puzzles.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Yup, unforgiving is the word! A good puzzle-platformer :)

Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:22pm

Very difficult. Awesome idea. Well done

Frolacosta says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Very interesting and challenging!

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:25pm

Can't get passed level 4, this a bit hard to beat... Nice entry anyway!

Draknek says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:39pm

I did not realise that the wardrobes had a gameplay purpose!

Collision is rather unforgiving.

Red squares I'm confused by. At first I tried falling through them but they didn't do anything. Then a bit later I accidentally fell through but they killed me.

Same level: it's just as awkward trying to jump up through this one-tile hole and it is trying to fall through the one-tile red squares. Finally do it and realise I can't jump up there: must need to change clothes and then I'll be able to fall through, but wouldn't have realised this if I hadn't come back here and read about the wardrobe. Swap this level and the next one!

Trying to jump over this death-barrier in the next level is too painful, I'm out.

Shame, there's scope for interestingness but the controls/collision are just too awkward for it to be enjoyable :(

J says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:15am

Thanks for the comments.

Level 4:

I've discovered an alternative solution to this one that doesn't use the wardrobe, but is harder, so maybe lots of people are doing that. I need a level before this to teach a concept used in it in a more simple/obvious way.

Unforgiving collisions:

When I made the player image, I increased his hitbox size to avoid drawing getting messy (for silly reasons), but this made it harder to jump over that barrier and to fall down those 1-tile-wide holes, neither of which I noticed in the small amount of time I had left.

Regarding collision with the robots, I couldn't think of a good way to make it possible to run off the top of them without getting caught, but I think I have an idea now.

I've also made falling and moving a lot slower in general (not uploaded). This makes the intended solution to level 2 more obvious (I hope), and makes other levels (especially 4, 6 and 8) easier to perform.

Not knowing how the red barriers work:

Yeah, level order got messed up as I was rushed towards the end...

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:52am

Interesting idea and nice presentation, but the game is very unforgiving.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:03am

Agree with above. Really nice idea. Far too easy to die on boxes.Sometimes I'd just die by jumping on them.

J says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:13pm

There's an updated version, and I think it (at least partly) fixes the issues. Feedback would be very appreciated (but don't rate me on this one, of course).

arhpositive says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:16pm

Nice game, kinda hard though. :) Level 4 was where I gave up, like most of the others. :) The "fail" sound effect got kinda irritating after a while, though. :)

Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Nice game! I liked the graphics and the idea of the wardrobe. When I failed a level, the fading in and out was quite slow on my (old) computer, and since the game is quite unforgiving, this annoyed me when I had to retry some levels.

ceronman says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Interesting concept. Very difficult. I would have loved to see more of the theme in the gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]