December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Vivi, the Greatest Villain

by Tapestry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is the first game I ever made and this is my first Ludum Dare! I'm really excited I did it.

Unfortunately, I did not get to implement some basic stuff, such as music, combat, dialogs, and story stuff, since I wasted time polishing graphics and code, when I didn't really have to. I also spent quite some time trying to make things work. I was really down when it occurred to me that I wont be able to create music for this game, since it's mostly a puzzle game/ exploration game.

Nevertheless, his has been a great learning experience for me, and i'm really looking forward to future Ludum Dare competitions!

About the game:
You play as "Vivi" (character inspired by Final Fantasy 9).
You have 3 Objectives, which are really simple to get done, due to the lack of combat/death.

Keys:
WASD to move.
E to pick up an item.
Q to drop an item.

That's all I guess, would love some feedback on your experience playing the game.
Keep in mind this is my first game ever made!
Thanks for playing! <3


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#323Graphics3.04
#410Audio2.28
#418Overall2.88
#594Fun2.31
#598Theme2.62
#601Humor1.87
#629Mood2.25
#685Innovation2.12

Comments

rolfeth says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:29pm

I liked the graphics, but found the gameplay a bit repetitive.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:29pm

I liked the graphical style + it's nice that the map is user-made and not generated. The labyrinth part was killing me though (:

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Well, I'd say that overall the game was good. It felt consistent and coherent in feel (although I think the main characters graphics clashed a bit...). The only thing that really annoyed me is the maze stage, but its not that your game was poorly designed, I just generally don't like mazes... All in all, its a pretty great game, though if you don't mind me asking, whats the levels folder for? Editing the files in there doesn't seem to do anything in-game.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:57pm

Congrats on completing your first LD! Always a great feeling. :) I liked the custom made map that you created - it was fun to explore. Always a sucker for a good exploration game. Was pretty repetitive; I understand that you were going to add more, but ran out of time. Oh well, it's a learning experience! :D (P.s. SSSHHHATAtata...)

Tapestry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Thanks for playing and thanks for your feedback, really appreciate it! :)
@Gravity Games:
I'm new to Java, I thought that the resource folders should be in the same file location with the .jar file. Turns out, the .jar file has the resource files inside it. if you open the .jar file using Winrar for instance you can access the resources!

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Not bad for a first game, not bad at all. The only thing that really surprised me was the "warp" through the woods and no way back, when using the first yellow key. Also I somehow couldn't pass through the green lock next to the green key.

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:35pm

Nice visuals, the world was actually quite fascinating I felt all alone like in Dark Souls or something :)

Tapestry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44pm

Thank you for the compliments!

@Smaxx
There is a total of 5 keys, 4 of which can open doors: The yellow, the blue, the red and the green.
In order to pass the green door, which is located in the maze, you will need to find the green key, which is located in another level! As for the first warp through the woods, I did that just so that the player can understand how the only gameplay mechanic in the game works! I guess it's somewhat confusing, since there was another key there. (the gray one, which does not open a door).

@Mava
Actually, Dark Souls was my main inspiration to create this "world"! Almost all levels seem to be distant from one another, when in fact they are connected! Originally I had many ideas about the world, and there were going to be more levels, with some good music to improve the exploration experience, but due to time constraints I could not create music, or create a more intertwined world. :(

ParaPup says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:43am

This was a interesting game you have here :3

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:44pm

GAH. I can't get it to run. No error. No window. No nothing. It just sits there. :(

Tapestry says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:14pm

@SonnyBone
That's weird. Do you have the latest Java installed?
http://www.java.com/en/download/index.jsp
Other than that, don't know what could be causing this...

Aslai says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:51am

Well, going through that maze was really tedious. I arrived at the blue door holding the yellow key, looped back to find the blue key, dropped the yellow one where the blue one was, only to find that immediately after the blue door was another yellow door. I loved the transition sound for some reason though. I also don't quite get how you are a villain for fetching those items...

Tapestry says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:11am

@Aslai
I see your point about the maze, didn't really think through the level design, did not have much time to do so, though :D
About the items, they are movie/game references of items that villains had. Having all those items will make you the greatest villain!

Drabiter says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 8:35am

Like the SFX of map transition. Great you can completed such huge maze.

Ed Okonik says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Well done completing your first game! It's a good start. Keep it up.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]