December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Eater

by RokB - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in C++ with SFML.
The source code is pretty bad, partly do to my laziness and partly due to my inexperience with making games.

WASD to Move.

You are a big monster that just wants to eat stuff. So eat stuff.

This was my first Ludum Dare and I managed to make this crappy game. I'm not upset though, since this was one of my first games, so in fact I'm even kind of proud.

NOTE: The source should work when compiled on any system and the according to a comment it works well with Wine.
(Thanks to zenmumbler for Mac version.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#320Humor2.67
#403Audio2.30
#455Fun2.66
#498Mood2.54
#519Overall2.72
#664Graphics2.10
#665Innovation2.21
#691Theme2.24

Comments

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:30pm

You say you're proud, and so you should be! well done for making a game in 48 hours especially one that was fun and challenging.

Mava says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:30pm

Its fun just to see how big the character can grow to :)

I have a similar mechanic in my game too.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:31pm

Fun little game - I enjoyed playing this ^.^

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:32pm

GJ on completing you game, I could not get past the "Humans last stand" round though it was far too difficult.

In my mind this game probably would have worked better as a continuous game rather then round based, with a whole variety of different sized objects, bigger eats you, smaller you eat, that kind of gameplay.

RokB says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39pm

I'll admit it probably would've been much better if I put in the effort to do what you said. Thanks for playing it though.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Was fun !

I was surprised the first time when the game restarted and then yo added a new mechanic: "EAT SMALLER THAN". I wasn't expecting that since you didn't add some kind of feedback at how far away in the level I was. I liked that.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:00pm

Enjoyed it. I like eating everything! :D Fun little game for a first entry.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:41am

YES.

lando walters says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:23am

I enjoyed it, but it would have been better if you had made it continuous,and sometimes (on the humans last stand level)there is no mathamatical way to get through. Overall, nice job :D

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:29am

Nice first entry! :D

It does get slightly tricky when you're really big and cornered by bombs!

metadept says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:51pm

Great job for a first time entry! It has all the important components: multiple levels, 'enemy' types, a story, sound, music, and an ending. My only complaint is that in the final stage, often there are not gaps between the bombs large enough to fit through, or when you get into the gaps you then eat something which makes you too big. Nice job.

Aslai says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:00am

This entry was somewhat entertaining, but the collisions were a little too ambiguous for me :/

Also I noticed your inclusion of libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll and libstdc++-6.dll. I like to statically link those by adding "-static-libgcc -static-libstdc++" to my linker options.

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:15am

Simple, but fun. Later levels can contain situations when you cannot dodge every bomb, which can be frustrating, though.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Be proud! Simple but fun mechanic. I kept on trying to get bigger on every screen :) By the way, it works great under Wine so you may want to say so in the description.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 11:22pm

Nice work! At first, I wasn't sure if there was any more after that first level, but I never should have doubted you! Let's review.

Bad:
-Moving backwards is a pain. Does it have to be that slow?
-The game could probably use a background and some other things to feel more complete.
-I personally have no idea what those blue things were...

Good:
-Level progression flows smoothly, and the messages in between are a nice touch.
-It all feels nice and solid in terms of gameplay.

ceronman says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:24am

Nice concept. Eating dots has never been so fun since pacman.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 8:32am

Simple concept, but nicely put together. Well done!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 11:19pm

I used your entry to practice 2 things, learning SFML by porting SFML projects from Win to Mac (the other one is Revenge Bear) and also in this case porting from SFML2.0 to 1.6 (this was necessitated by me already having compiled 1.6 libs but no 2.0 libs ready and being lazy about it.)

You can get Eater Mac here (10.7+ required for libc++ runtime) :
http://logic-dream.com/ext/EaterMac.zip

@RokB, feel free to link to this download in your entry (or reupload it somewhere else) If you want the Xcode project or the 1.6 converted source, let me know here or on Twitter (@zenmumbler)

Biggest pain point in porting was that SFML 2 rects are left, top, width, height and in 1.6 they're left, top, right, bottom. If I had had SFML 2 libs precompiled, porting would have consisted solely of creating the Xcode project, dragging in the files, putting in some paths and assembling the .app bundle.

As for the game: simple concept, functional, multiple levels, an intro and ending screen and even sound and music! That is something a lot of LD48 entries can't say. Well done.

RokB says ...
Dec 31, 2012 @ 11:49pm

Thanks a lot for porting this to mac! Thank you for your comments as well.

ddionisio says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 1:17am

sweet, I ate everything!

Infin8 says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 3:01am

Nice game! Fun and simple. I looked through your code, did you have to playtest quite a bit to get the spawning probabilities for the different entities to make it playable?

RokB says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Thanks for playing. Yes I did have to playtest a bit with the spawning to get it just right even though I'm pretty sure it's not right yet, especially for the last level.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]