December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

War of the Drones

by galchwyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In an overcrowded world where human population grows wildly, Goverment has found a way to control it usin Drones. As a Drone AI, your mission is to find humans and kill them, flying over their insulting faces. But be careful, there are some human controlled artifacts that will chase you. Lucky you, they are slower simply because they are humans. And you can win Points, indeed!

You can find it in here ( http:manelvf.com/drones )

The code is pure Javascript and is on the web uncompressed. It uses the amazing lightweight library Zepto.js and bits of code I found on the internets (nothing serious). I will add a Github link in the next days.

It was an amazingly amusing experience. I will repeat.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#558Graphics2.41
#587Humor1.92
#683Innovation2.13
#702Mood1.93
#733Overall2.12
#734Fun1.81
#745Theme1.82
#948Coolness32%

Comments

Bensonance says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:51pm

I love the art and the color palette, but the gameplay is a little repetitive and the sudden framerate drop is pretty jarring. appearance is great though :).

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Nice control scheme, but clicking the mouse button in the middle of play should not restart the level, i found myself very confused by this.

galchwyn says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:30pm

Thanks for the feedback. The level restart on click is a bug I didn't found on development, despite it's trivial. Framerate is better on Chrome (as you should expect), but sure it can be improved. Gameplay can be improved too, I want to do it a multiplayer game. Thanks again

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:13pm

The humans have not been accurately modelled. Have you played to much pacman lately? :)

I enjoyed this little game and liked the simple and funny graphics. You could easily expand this game to something even better!

pythong says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:52pm

the fps was jumping for me all over (between 0 and 125) i'm on firefox on a mac :/

doos says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:22pm

I like the color palette, but couldnt find the challenge in the game, apart from taunting the computer AI.

raincole says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:40pm

On my computer(MacOS/Chrome) framerate is consistent. The gameplay is too simple, though.

Joseph Miller says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 9:47pm

The gameplay here is too simple to be very engaging and without a story it's just not a very engaging experience. The controls worked well and I liked the simple aesthetic, though.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I like the style, it looks cool with the colors and everything.

The gameplay is not very challenging or engaging. It's not very difficult to run away from the artifacts, and so playing seems a little pointless after a little while.

You should also make sure that the mouse button doesn't restart, cause it took me forever to figure out what was going on.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]