December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Heist

by alexlarioza - Jam Entry

Hey all, I joined the event quite late and ended up missing the compo deadline, but I was able to finish for the Jam. :)

This is my first time using the Quest engine and also my first interactive fiction! As a result, I severely under estimated the time required to write an IF and plan out the plot. So the story is a bit dry and the ending anti-climatic.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#221Mood(Jam)2.61
#278Humor(Jam)1.83
#286Innovation(Jam)2.14
#290Fun(Jam)2.14
#304Overall(Jam)2.27
#304Theme(Jam)2.15
#817Coolness42%

Comments

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Nice its pretty good for only having 12 hours to work on it.

pillbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:56pm

To be honest, I didn't manage to get engaged in the game, it was just a little too hard to get the story to go anywhere.

nathanj439 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:19am

It was fun, but I had to cheat by looking at the source to figure out some of the puzzles. The computer gives an incorrect code to the vault. The grammar and spelling errors are a bit distracting as well.

alexlarioza says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:59am

@Pillbrain Yeah, unfortunately I didn't have enough time to actually flesh out the story in a sensible manner, which is why the beginning rooms have more content than later ones.

@nathanj439 I have a track record of difficult games, but regarding the incorrect password issue: yikes! I've updated the game to fix the incorrect password problem. Regarding spelling/grammar, I wanted to proof the game for such issues after I finished but I unfortunately ran out of time. :(

pythong says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:53pm

kill old man
>>you can't kill him

:O

zatyka says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:04am

I hard a hard time telling which text was bold. I really like text adventures, so I was excited to play. It was a bit frustrating to be so limited in what I could do, but I'm still impressed that you did it all in 12 hours.

Ace says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Damn, been way too long since I last played a good text adventure. Remember working with the Quest engine several years back when they were still played, I'm amzed it still exists.
Was a pretty good adventure even if the story could've used some more fleshing out, and I guess the puzzles could've been improved as well.

BlackBulletIV says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 2:06am

I didn't get particularly far. So much command guessing! The help command only lists a few. I wasn't able to guess how to talk about subjects and the like.

alexlarioza says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:45am

@BlackBulletIV All of the commands (except the command ask subjects, which are in bold in the text) can be found on the buttons on the UI of the quest client (take, drink, etc) so there is no need to guess anything.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]