December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

SITH JUST GOT SERIOUS

by borso - Jam Entry

Huh. Submitted our first ludum dare entry two seconds before the deadline!

Really short summary:

You're Darth Vader, you need to kill everybody.

If you don't have it already, you will need to install XNA redist to be able to play:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

and also .NET Framework 4.0:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
:(

Made by two people in 2 days.

Used XNA and Photoshop.

Have fun!

Browser version and sound effects are coming soon... :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#55Graphics(Jam)4.02
#63Fun(Jam)3.35
#75Humor(Jam)3.16
#91Theme(Jam)3.63
#102Overall(Jam)3.33
#119Innovation(Jam)3.09
#150Mood(Jam)2.86
#266Audio(Jam)1.33

Comments

Toadpud says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:00am

Really great graphics and gameplay, but a few suggestions:
-It could really use some balancing. Difficulty was ridiculous, and trying to click on the souls as they wave around was just annoying.
-Maybe let the player stock up on powerups. Woulda been really useful.
-Place-able traps?

borso says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:12am

Yeah the souls are annoying. We were short on time and this was the easiest solution. I might change it so they fly to you and you can pick them up automatically.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:47pm

Nice concept. Loved rolling the death star at people. I agree the pickups were pretty hard to cach, esp. as Im using a laptop touchpad XD

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Nice game! being vader is to evil!

strong99 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Fun game and nice graphics! Bit hard but kept playing, that's a good thing! :)

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:31pm

Really solid in mostly every way and fun to play and look at. I got frustrated in the end though because even if you do everything perfectly you're not guaranteed a power up, so it just feels like waiting for a random number generator. I also thought the camera shake made it very hard to click on stuff. Really good game though.

csanyk says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 4:34am

It was cute, funny, but needs work. In the second level, I just dropped a rock and then the wookiees got stuck and there was no way to proceed. Would be REALLY great if there were some funny voice acting sounds and Vader breathing and stuff. Lots of potential here if you keep working on it.

borso says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:25am

csanyk: the map was made to work like that. you should kill it with the second stone. :) it might be a bit deceptive though that it doesn't show the game over message, but you can always restart the map with pressing R.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 7:55pm

Graet! Just missing audio. I normally feel like games with non-original characters are kind of missing the point of LD, but this one didn't bother me and I loved the caricatures of these guys. I thought the with the two hanging rocks below was too hard... I tried it many times but it felt like I was just just not lucky enough to get enough coins to keep the lukes from coming in on the top. Maybe I was missing something. Nice work! :)

Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:35pm

Nice concept with cute art! I got stuck on the first level with the Death Star until I realized I could still collect souls after Vader died!

krutech says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Cool game. A bit difficult mostly due to hectic mechanics. Stocking on specials would have been nice.

naufr4g0 says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:26am

Really cool game! :D
Graphics is very nice.
Difficulty is often not well-balanced.

Norgg says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:02am

Couldn't get past the 4th or so level where wookies go into a lower path and jedi go up a second one, seems like you've got to be really lucky to get enough powerup drops to fight off the jedi as they'll frequently avoid the traps.

borso says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:15am

Norgg: that's the last level. There're some stuff that missing because we didn't have much time left, you can't really finish it. :)

Maple says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:25am

Not bad at all. I got stuck on the level after the one where you have to collect 50 souls, though.
Also, it's nice to see something basic yet apparently rare with LD games; a parallax background. The graphics were nice.
Collecting souls by clicking on them wasn't all that bad, but I wish they wouldn't disappear -- at least on levels where the enemies don't constantly respawn, because you get stuck, otherwise. The solution of making you automatically collect them would fix that though.
Nice entry.

aeveis says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 12:58pm

clicking on things to collect them was really hard. collecting coins suggested i had a reserve of money but it only activated one power-up at a time. juggling between traps and power-ups were interesting but it was to hard to trap them to get the initial power-ups. Maybe a GUI and more traps/powerups?

Zelen3d says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Great game overall. The only thing a bit annoying were the souls, and the traps that took some time to be activated.

OU GDA says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:31am

Not mousepad friendly, really hard to click on the items. Had to get out my mouse (Which I was more than happy to because the game is a blast). The level with jedi on top and wookies on the bottom just keeps restarting when you win (Granted from the comments I guess that's the last one and it was a time issue). Would have liked to have more levels to play but I understand the time constraints ^__^.

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Crashes on me, without an error screen.

borso says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:36pm

ploxzorz: you haven't installed xna 4.0 redistributable, you can download it from here:

http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Intoxicatious says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 5:24pm

I would prefer it if I could collect souls by mouse-over instead of clicking.

sauronz says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 9:05pm

i really like this entry :) Very solid and entertaining! I like the overall idea, it's very well though, it's funny, hard and makes us think which is good :) I find the commands a bit too hard, specially clicking on the souls, mainly because I get distracted from other enemies while I try to catch the damn soul :) Also I would like to suggest a soul counter. Art is beautifull and hilatious :) animations are also great. :) Very good entry

schnerble says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 11:45pm

Some nice ideas there - but it's a bit too easy to make the levels unwinnable.

wademcgillis says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:17pm

The final level was quite difficult, and after a few tries I gave up. The graphics were great, but the powerups were hard to click.

Markavian says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 12:55am

Managed to finish the 4th level only to have it restart the 4th level. Got a lucky drop on a wookie that allowed me to spam some walkers just as the Jedi arrived.

borso says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:58am

Markavian: sorry for that. If it makes you feel better, even I coudn't finish that level. :( You win a imaginary award!

Teejay5 says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:04pm

The difficulty escalates pretty fast, but the game is very fun!

frogmaster says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Very very cool game with nice, innovating mechanics. One of my favourites. But... tbh, I didn't finish it. I failed at this level with 2 lanes. It is very frustrating because sometimes You can't finish with random drop. It hurts so much... Nevertheless, one of this LD's must-plays!

Infin8 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Great stuff. Closest way i can think oif to describe it is a side-view tower defense

RawBits says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Nice, but very hard - that's what she sad :) - without a difficulty curve. Oh, and what does Disney think of your right to use the franchise? :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]