December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Class Master: Rise of the Slimes

by eerongal - Jam Entry

Jam entry me and my friend made. I did all the programming and he did all the assests.

All in all, I think it turned out pretty well.

WASD to move, mouse to select buttons, Q to detonate fireballs (class ability button needs to be clicked first). It's worth noting the fireballs don't show damage numbers, but they do damage enemies. Run in to enemies to deal melee damage to them.

Change your class at-will to maximize your stats and usage of abilities! Collect items to increase your power, and show those slimes what you're made of!

****THIS GAME HAS ONLY BEEN TESTED ON WINDOWS, BUT SHOULD BE CROSS PLATFORM*****

Windows users: Run the .bat file to play
OSX/Linux users: Run with the following command: java -Djava.library.path=lib/ -jar build.jar





***************POST COMPO VERSION***************

So i've been working on the game a bit to get some of the features in that i wanted to get in last week during the jam, so for any who wish to play it, it can be downloaded here:

https://dl.dropbox.com/u/11857495/postcompo.zip

PLEASE NOTE THAT THE POST COMPO VERSION IS NOT ALLOWED TO BE CONSIDERED IN THE VOTING. I am putting it here solely for those interested in seeing where it is going.


****UPDATED 12/31/2012****
Additions:

--Pressing space a game over restarts your character, carrying over unlocked classes and 1/10th of your base stats.
--New abilities on some classes.
--New classes, tier 1 and tier 2
--Classes are now "alignment" based. There are now good, evil and (unlockable) neutral classes, as well as second classes for each class.
--Added new "melee abilities" for some melee classes. They effectively strike (out of turn) in an area centered on the player.
--Class change screen
--Different ability types, ranging from class ability, cross class ability, passive abilities, and item abilities
--Enhanced UI
--Bug fixes
--Dungeon is now unlimited

To do:
--Finish the inventory system and add equip-able items.
--Flesh out class abilities (the bandit and thief are the only one that's had too much fleshing out done to it)
--Add more classes
--Add random events


***NOTE: THE INVENTORY SCREEN CURRENTLY DOESN'T WORK. IF YOU OPEN IT, THE ONLY WAY TO GET OUT OF IT IS TO EXIT THE GAME!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#147Audio(Jam)2.89
#231Overall(Jam)2.75
#246Fun(Jam)2.41
#250Graphics(Jam)2.59
#263Mood(Jam)2.37
#270Innovation(Jam)2.34
#284Humor(Jam)1.74
#310Theme(Jam)2.00

Comments

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:20am

ambitious project

lur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:15am

Works fine on Debian Squeeze / OpenJDK. I like how fast it is. Music is nice.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:57am

I think you might have missed part of your instructions; it looks like to actual cast your ability (at least the fireball) you need to press space first to activate the spell, then Q to actually cast it. Other than that leveling up was very slow. I killed three slimes any only got 2 experience points total.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:36am

attacking is awkward because you have to just walk in circles..
and I could not get the fireball to hurt the slimes

jerrre says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:28am

I get this error on OSX Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path

so maybe you can include that?

eerongal says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:38pm

@Jerre: Strange....that library should be included with it. How are you running it? The command should be: java -Djava.library.path=lib/ -jar build.jar. Also, i put up a new OSX build with some OSX specific files, give that a try see if that works.

@Dalbinblue: Actually, it works like any other ability, you have to click the button in the corner before you can detonate it. If that button is highlighted, you can hit space to activate it.

@moomoo112: Actually, the fireballs do hurt the slimes, there's just no damage popup (didnt get around to getting that in it on time), and the warlock spells starts out pretty weak (11 damage base at level 1), but it scales pretty well.

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:50am

Still not sure what was going on, somehow I managed to kill some stuff but I don't know how to attack or anything. Q didn't appear to do anything.

Milo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:42am

The controls were fairly unintuitive; it took me a while to realize that I attacked things by running into them, because I thought the hit sound & graphic was me being hurt. I think the idea of being able to change classes whenever is neat, but needs to be implemented better.

ripter says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:49am

OSX users: java -Djava.library.path=lib/ -jar build.jar

jerrre says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:00am

Yes the -D trick works, maybe put it on top

eerongal says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:33pm

@milo - Yeah, i didn't get in all the features i wanted for the class system, which makes it a bit lack luster. If i had more time, i was planning on adding in "unlocking" higher tier classes based on the classes you leveled, as well as unlocking new abilities

@Someone - You run into enemies to melee them, and to cast the warlock's spell, you have to hit the class ability button (bottom left corner) and then use Q to detonate the fireball.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:28pm

Its not on the theme and need an attack button.

singpolyma says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 5:31pm

Seems ok, though "walk into them to attack" makes it so it seems a bit like I'm just walking around.

Zathalos says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 5:25am

I liked the quick nature of the gameplay. However I didn't see the point to switching classes, the warrior dude pwned everything. Also what's the point of the villain class? Overall, not a bad game and I liked the art.

Neonlare says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 3:08am

This is some seriously ambitious stuff! Not bad, if a lil unbalanced.

firestorm713 says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:42pm

Confusing combat, and unsure how I was supposed to attack and things. Interesting idea, though. I'd love to see the post-compo version!

eerongal says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 12:37am

@firestorm713: You're in luck, the post compo version is detailed and linked the description. I also went ahead and added a link to it at the top :)

@Zathalos: I think the post compo version might answer the "point to switching classes" as you can see where i was originally wanting to head with the idea. And the villain class is essentially supposed to improve all areas of the character equally (all stats evenly)

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:02am

This is a really ambitious almost-rogue-like game, which is great. You have all the pieces there, which is really impressive, now you just have to polish them up to make it all more intuitive.

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. We support LWJGL automatically. Either way, great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]