December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

POW MIA

by nolacoaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tested on Google Chrome

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#504Humor2.12
#528Audio1.73
#614Innovation2.32
#702Fun1.95
#711Theme2.11
#732Mood1.59
#734Overall2.11
#738Graphics1.68
#854Coolness40%

Comments

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:32am

Needs more forehead stamps :P Fun game!

nimblegorilla says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:39am

Cool idea. I felt the people were rushing the gate a little fast. Sometimes you could block a person, but they would still be too far ahead to stamp them.

amassingham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:13am

Hit detection was a bit off in a few places. Neat nonetheless.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:56am

The stamping didn't work all the time, They came out way to fast, An I felt like I wasn't the villan I felt like I was doing good? But non the less alright job for html? I think.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18pm

How are you the villain?

Pent says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:16pm

The passport stamping hit detection felt a little small..

nolacoaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:27pm

Thanks guys! Yeah, the collision box for the passport is pretty small, it's true.

If you're wondering how you are the villain, you gotta spend more time waiting in long lines to be let back into the US! It will make you think mean things about the people stamping the passports. ;-)

All in good fun, of course.

dwrensha says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:17am

Rent-a-cops and government layabouts. Villains all.

Houly says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:30pm

I don't get why i'm a villain, but i never was in miami, so who knows how evil those stampers are. I felt a little more villainy dodging all those persons and let them in illegally.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]