December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Tripe Traps

by Lyonsbanner - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi everybody !

It's my first time to participate at Ludume Dare (And sorry for my english).

I present you "Tripe Traps". It's a very simple game whose aim is to crush with traps the little white hero who moves from left to right. Use 1, 2 and 3 buttons to use them and press S button to play/replay the game.

That's all ! You have 3 hearts and you lose one if the hero manages to go to the right of the screen. Even if you crush him, like all heroes of video games worldwide, he respawn on the left screen (with his vicious 1UP).

Last think, be a good villain, make the best score and enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#244Humor2.91
#335Fun2.89
#376Theme3.19
#485Mood2.57
#490Overall2.76
#592Audio1.29
#645Innovation2.25
#673Graphics2.08

Comments

Sestren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17am

A simple concept that turns out to be fairly fun. Nice job.

MvT says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:54am

Good game, i hope you will improve him and make other lvls.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:25pm

2730 on my first go, having three weights kept things fun when it got fast

metadept says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:28pm

Nice little game. I think if you added some different kinds of traps, made the hero a little unpredictable (have him 'fake out' the player sometimes by stopping or turning back), and generally spiced things up, it could definitely go places. Good job!

gilesa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:23pm

Started off a little slow, but get's more challenging and fun as the hero gets faster. My score was 2550.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Simple, yet fun and humourous. Good work! :D

chribbe1 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Simple idea, but still pretty nice. I miss blood when killing the hero. It would also be nice with some different effects depending on what trap you use!

pbdiode says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:38am

Great job!

dekart says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:25pm

probably the heroes should go faster at the beginning

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:34pm

3400! Fun game. I mostly just used the second one.

brantkings says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:45am

Awesome!

So simple, but it's the game I had more fun until now.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:56am

Good job on the scoring system.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Neat game. How the weights fell and retracted really felt 'right' with me for some reason. A larger variety or traps and heroes would be nice though.

har_g says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:03pm

I like it. but it could be better with more feature (different ennemi, traps, or level)

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:51pm

Simple, easy to understand a fun. Like other could be great with other level and traps ;)

CMaster says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:17pm

That's pretty effective.
The bucket of mercury is an unusual but evil trap.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 3:33am

Needs a lot of work to make it more interesting, make levels, make the hero run faster each time, more traps, etc.

arhpositive says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Nice work overall. :) The gameplay feels fun, and the difficulty curve is just about right. In the future, you might add enemies that behave differently from each other to spice it up.

Demurgos says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Je regrette le manque de diversité et la répétitivité dans le gameplay qui reste simpliste.
Ton jeu a toutefois pleins de bons points : les graphismes me plaisent, il est marrant, le thème est bien exploité et en plus c'est fait avec Canvas (mais je vois que ça reste très brouillon :/ )

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]