December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Praelia Solus

by rftr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

EDIT: I've uploaded a build with no music. This should be considered my primary build as it is *exactly* the same as my original build, sans music.

Many thanks to __twc for music! (https://soundcloud.com/twc-3)

Source available at https://github.com/jeffjcheng/ld25

Tools used:
- Engine: Unity 4 Pro Trial
- Audio: Sfxr, Bfxr, Audacity
- Visual: MSPaint, GIMP

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#164Audio3.03
#183Graphics3.45
#213Fun3.15
#225Overall3.25
#254Theme3.45
#290Innovation3.03
#418Mood2.68
#646Humor1.71

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:44am

Very nice, very pretty. Reminds me that I need to take this SHMUP I have off the back-burner some day and finish it.

totalspelnerd says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:52am

This was a really great game. If this game was developed for real in a month with more levels and more ships to send out, I would totally buy this game!

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:12am

Nice, pretty. I wasn't able to kill the player after playing for a bit, but it's impressive for LD.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26am

I really liked the music and graphics!
I think the gameplay got a bit boring after a few minutes, but it is a nice game!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:00am

Fun! I love the way you used the theme. Very well made for a 48 hour game.

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:02am

Really fun game, but I found it a little difficult, especially re: the cost of some of the items (some seemed like a way better deal than others). Also, the ship went off the left side of the screen one time, and never came back. o_o;

Kiyaku says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:04am

Liking it a lot :D It's simple but i think the idea is great for this type of game! Love how your art turned out in the end ;) A bit too hard indeed, i couldn't defeat the player yet, but then again i'm terrible at shmup games :P

rftr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:19am

Sorry for the difficulty level, guys. I didn't really have time to balance things >_>

@apophenia: I thought I had quashed that bug... sorry :(

My "high score" (low score?) is around 20k.

Meep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:58am

Very nice! With more time spent balancing/tweaking, and perhaps expanding on it, it has a lot of potential. :)

thristhart says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:30pm

I was a little disappointed in the lack of strategy, but perhaps it just needs balance tweaks - spamming Bursters is OP. Overall cool.

Question: You say the music is by __twc. Does that not invalidate this as a Compo entry?

thristhart says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:31pm

Oh, forgot to mention. By just using only bursters, constantly, one can easily get a score of under 9k.

rftr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:24pm

@thristhart: Thanks for the heads up about the music. I selected it because it's licensed under the Creative Commons license, but it'd be easy enough for me to upload another build sans-music.

And... yeah. I didn't really have time do any real balancing in the final hour of the competition.

wccrawford says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:39pm

You can fix the 'chrome bug' by using http instead of https.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:31am

@rftr:wow, excellent game, but a little difficult to play around, i tried my best.

dek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:55pm

GOod game, but with can be finished really easy if you know how to. Graphics were shiny and nice, gameplay was fluid!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:58pm

Nice graphics, and nice mechanism too! Every unit has its ability is pretty cool, and fits nicely :)

pillbrain says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:31pm

Good, although I found it a bit too hard, I could get the player down to about 20% and then they would just miraculously man up and start going up to about 90, no matter what I did.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:24pm

"NOTE: There is a known issue playing Unity games in Chrome!"

- actually, it's caused by the HTTPS in the Dropbox link. Change it to HTTP and it works in all browsers. ;-)

Now to play your game...

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:28pm

Good game! Quite tough. Nice 80s CRT vector aesthetic... if that makes any sense!

rftr says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 2:50am

@DustyStylus: Thanks for the tip, and thanks for the kind words :)

dekart says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:40am

Perfectly implemented concept! The graphics is good

raincole says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:29pm

best reverse-shooter game in this LD.

Dec 26, 2012 @ 6:00pm

Great!

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Nice graphics, and the tunes added are pretty good, but I agree, the game got pretty boring after a while.
The spawning recharge mechanism was pretty nice.
Good work.

Benjamin says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 2:41am

The graphics vector are cool but the game balance need more work. I was efficient only withburster and had the feeling that some others was useless ( mine or tracker ). The spawn and vanishing effect are gorgeous !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]