December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

DinoBurgers

by Contraspect - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First time entering the LD!

You are masterchef Pierre,the owner of the "DinoBurger" restaurants.
With your time-machine you can go back in time to hunt dinosaurs. This is a high value delicacy. But will the dinosaurs survive this slaughter?

Now with REAL dinosaur sounds!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#90Audio3.34
#259Fun3.07
#263Overall3.17
#295Humor2.73
#309Mood2.89
#329Graphics3.03
#553Theme2.76
#597Innovation2.37

Comments

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Great effort, I made lots of burgers, nice combination of (I guess the soundfx generator) and your own voice for the grunting?

pl0xz0rz says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Pretty average.

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:52pm

wow what a cool game and the noises were fitting and the artstyle was relaxing. It also had a definate difficulty curve because by wave 6 i found it so hard and kept dying ;O. My only critism is that there could have been more gameplay elements in the further waves other than bigger dinasours.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Fun game, the Gallimimus at the beginning of wave 5 were scary.
Do you know Pierre isn't Masterchef, Ludo is...

GFM says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Awesome game!
I really like how you used the theme!
Except for the character, the others graphics and the sounds reminded me of atari games... xD

Kabzoer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:19pm

I din't use sfxr tough, all sound effects are programmed in Famitracker!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Pretty good ^.^ those pixelsaurs are cute.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:26pm

That's a nice..everything ! Reminds me of Dino Run and it's cool

Zazibar says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:30pm

Loved it!

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:39pm

This one is pretty nice, its a lot of fun to play. The later waves are a bit challenging, but not to the point of frustration, just enough to keep you playing to the end. I really like the minimalist pixel art (though the dinosaur graphics clashed with everything else...), and the sound effects fit really nicely as well. I really liked the whole feel of the game, but it doesn't really have much to do with being a villain if you ask me. However, I still think the game is nice, and its very wacky and humorous. If you were to continue this, the only advice I could give you is to add more enemies, locations, or waves, but it stands well as it is.

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Liked it. Could've used a bit of variety.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:55pm

The audio, mood and graphics were super nice, but the gameplay got a bit repetitive after a while.

Harsay says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:26pm

love that type of games :) So simple and fun!

Spierek says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:08pm

The audio started to annoy me a little around Wave 8, but the gameplay was really solid. Good job.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:03pm

Good setting with the effective visuals and sounds. Rather repetitive, could have ended at wave 6 afaik :)

Spelchan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:12pm

Don't really see anything villainous about hunting dinosaurs. While I suppose you could argue that you are driving them to extinction but had they not gone extinct we wouldn't be around.

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:25pm

Fun little game, cool idea. Like it :)

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:52pm

Like the atmosphere of the game, especially the background sounds. However a bit off theme.

ceronman says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 5:26pm

Nice game. I had fun playing it.

Van Merwan says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 3:22pm

Maybe it would be even funnier with a melee weapon.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]