December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Mothertrucking knights

by ryangoodwin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a troll and are getting annoyed with all the knights coming into your lair to steal back the queen.

You can use the arrow keys to do everything.

Sorry it's so short.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#140Humor3.22
#292Theme3.38
#426Mood2.67
#553Fun2.44
#563Graphics2.40
#600Overall2.56
#670Coolness49%
#698Innovation2.08

Comments

donmilham says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:24am

Fun little crawler with nice graphics. I played through a couple times and am pretty sure I made it as far as I could. (Is there a way to pass the room full of knights?)

ryangoodwin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:32am

Thanks. There is no way to get past the room full of knights, I was running out of time so decided to just kill off the troll.

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:56am

Quick and simple, it took me a while to figure out that they were using bananas. A good romp. What happened to the princess?

kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:05am

Very nice"

jastkand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:18am

Nice game! Room of knights made me to look through the source and to cheat some health. So my troll is still alive :)

rasmusrn says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:39am

I got beat up by the room of knights too :/

May I suggest a smother scrolling? I think that would make a lot more enjoyable :)

uwap says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44am

Pretty amazing

De10ter says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44am

Hmm, not bad, but it's a bit disappointing that there's no tactics/player input to combat.
If there'd been some element that required player skill or even player choices (like alternate routes) I think it could have been a lot better.

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Oh poor little troll :)

Pent says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:44pm

I thought it was funny that I killed myself :)

sanojian says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:55am

Charming graphics style. Could use some tactics.

dek says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:59am

Funny dialogue and art :D!

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:00pm

Nice! The dialog was funny. Simple but fun gameplay!

Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:28pm

I like being a troll and I liked going out in a blaze of glory. Moving round the levels reminded me of Repton, which is always a good thing

GagaPete says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Nice subtitles and funky graphics but battle knights should be harder. :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]