December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Hubris of the Bone Lord

by awppy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My first game jam is complete, and I'm quite proud of the result! I cut this pretty close, but it's been an absolute BLAST.

For anyone who is finding the game difficult: if you hold down LEFT SHIFT and RIGHT SHIFT at the very beginning of a new stage, your power will be multiplied by 4. That should help a bit :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#126Graphics3.65
#218Mood3.07
#219Overall3.26
#237Humor2.93
#279Fun3.03
#346Theme3.26
#406Audio2.29
#591Innovation2.39

Comments

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Can't really nail the combo timing, but the game is pretty fun!

awppy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:16pm

If you're having trouble doing the sliding punch, just mash the "punch forward" button. Pressing the button early doesn't reset the combo (you can experiment with this when there are no enemies around if you want to practice)

Markavian says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:22pm

I can't get past the Difficulty Select (123) screen, when I press a key it takes me off the title screen, but then won't progress past that point.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:35pm

The year is...irrelevant. Epic. You have to finish this one.

awppy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Markavian - sorry, it isn't very clear from the screen, I guess. You have to press the number (on the keyboard above qwerty, NOT the numpad) corresponding to the difficulty you want. ie press 1 to select Easy

saguaro says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:29am

This game gave me Battletoads flashbacks. The intro story is awesome.

soupy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:04am

Losing lives-->game over is a pretty outdated and player-unfriendly mechanic but other than that the game is great. I love the back/foreground scrolling and story.

naxum says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:08am

Pretty fun! Turns into run around in circles and punch one guy from the mob following you every so often, but it's still great for a LD game! Could totally use a badass punching music score though!

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:14am

soupy: in retrospect I should have allowed the option to retry the current stage from a game over; getting to the third stage and having to restart from the beginning is frustrating

heloheu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:23am

When I saw the how to play, I thought Z and C to attack in different directions would be confusing, but it's awesome!!

joaorequiao says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:33pm

Loved the history and liked alot the Z and C buttons to hit in different directions

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:20pm

Having to install the redist made me sad.

I love me a brawler. Graphics were good. Audio could be better. Music was missing. Overall the game was alright - got super repetitive about midway through. Would have loved different combos or something.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:23pm

Love the arcade style you've got going! Also the AI is done quite well. Kept getting surrounded!

awppy says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:43pm

Yeah, I'm pretty proud of the way the AI works. They actually betray my expectations sometimes!

I really wanted to get some music in - thinking of composing with a Sega Genesis sound board. Music was unfortunately one of the many things that was axed due to time restraints. I also wanted to implement a sense of progression: acquisition of new skills and stats, as well as unique attacks for bosses/other enemies.

But that'll all have to wait until I have more time to work on it. I could only squeeze so much into 48 hours :}

Starspell says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:50pm

Really nicely polished entry. It needed a health pick up, music and some kind of celebration at the end of the level. Otherwise it is top-notch!

The graphics are great, the level is put together really nicely and the gameplay is pretty good as well. It doesn't suffer from the side-scrolling beat-em-up syndrome of being slightly too high or low to hit.

Nice job.

ramoncb says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:23am

nice game!
and with a nice presentation too!

the concept of the 'z' and 'c' was quite unexpected,I thought that 'z' was frontal attack independent of the position of the character xD

Bullseye8841 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:27am

Solid beat'em up! My only grip lies in the fact that there were several times where a pillar was blocking my view of the action. Other then that, good job!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 11:50am

I like your graphics ! Congrats for this entry :)

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:48pm

Wouldn't run.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:30am

Not really my style of game, but after discovering the cheat code I was able to finish the game. Really liked the graphical style and how your power punch can take out scores of guys making the 8 on 1 actually winnable. The ending was a bit of a let-down but for a brawler I actually had a lot of fun. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]