December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Infection

by noKid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is complete. I hope you'll have fun :)

RULES :
A RED cube is a cube you possess.
A BLUE cube is a scanned and free cube.
A GREEN cube is a guardian. They are your enemies.

You start as a RED cube. You need to reach the GOLDEN cube by creating a control path to it.
You can SCAN the neighbors of BLUE / RED cubes by right-clicking on it. Neighbors will reveal their colors.
You can CONTROL the neighbors of a RED cube by left-clicking on it ONCE it has been scanned.
You can CREATE links by dragging your mouse between two cubes (only in a horizontal or vertical way).

Notice :

1) The content is randomly generated. That means sometimes, a game can't be won, and sometimes, it's too easy. 'Cause like a villain, life is unfair !

2) Two actions can be made on the same case, the time counter will show only the last one (but both actions will occur).

3) There's also a little bug that allow players to cheat.
Try to find it ;)

About the theme :
I was not very inspired by the theme. You play an evil cube trying to infect the others. Maybe original, but I could have done far better !

About the music : Made with MuLabs (Window, free version).

About the graphics : Photoshop, some fonts from dafont and code only.

About the light system : Inspired from an article on the SFML wiki.

Feel free to ask anything !

Windows notes : The game might not be able to run on old / integrated GPU (I use shaders). 64bits only; otherwise, please compile from the source with latest SFML revision

Linux notes : You need SFMl to be installed on your system. 64bits only; otherwise, please compile from the source with latest SFML revision

Dev notes :
Source code is awful. The last hours were kinda rushed, so you'll find horrible things. This was my IRL-RPG interpretation of "You're the villain !"




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#39Audio3.59
#66Innovation3.71
#107Graphics3.75
#236Mood3.03
#263Overall3.17
#310Fun2.94
#662Theme2.35
#681Humor1.54

Comments

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:59pm

I couldn't run the Linux version (I'm on 32 bit), but the windows version works in wine, absolutely beautiful game, stunning music. Takes some figuring out. Very nice.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:02pm

I wasn't able to win (I tried a few times), so your point about the random levels holds (or I'm an idiot :-))

Still, nice idea and I like the graphics and the music - next time MOAR HELP pls

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:03pm

Are guardians your friends or ennemiy ?

Robotic says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:06pm

It looks really nice, but it is really confusing... I didn't rate the fun and innovation because I do not want to put a bad rating if I didn't understand

noKid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:09pm

As you are the villain, Guardians are your ennemies.

Sorry for the rules not being clear, I'm gonna write a little guide right now ! Thanks you anyway for giving it a try.

Geoege says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:10pm

Ok they're ennemies, had a lot of fun , graphics and sound are pretty cool too. A bit hard to understand on firsts try but finally won :) !

Nonakesh says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:14pm

That game is awesome! I really like the graphics, those lighting effects are just cool. The audio was really good as well. It's really fun to play as well.

A little bug: you can only conquer the core with connections that were there at the beginning. Your own connections don't work.

noKid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:19pm

Nonakesh : Weird behavior. I'll retest it, but that's not the way it should work. Thanks you for pointing it out, I apologize. I hope you had fun though ;)

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:20pm

The gameplay itself is pretty novel, but I don't know if is it just me, I find that unsolvable maps too common.

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:21pm

It took me a while to figure out, but then I replayed it about ten times.
Awesome! Five's in all fields.
Also, music kick ass!

noKid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:22pm

The main problem is that they're totally random. I could have done hand-made levels, or write a solver to check the difficulty, but time was running out :(

gameXcore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Really fun, best extremely frustrating, took me a while to work out what I was supposed to be doing, but then I could never get a board that I could win, there were always greenies next to the yellow bloke!

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:28pm

Looks great, but I second the confusion of figuring things out.

delpes says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:40pm

Enjoyed this game very much. A create concept. I almost beat the good GREEN guys ;) I will definitely try this again later to see if i can win.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46pm

Great, i liked it. Very nice and innovative. For me the fact that your "avatar" is the red cube and ennemies the green ones is enough for the theme. One of my favorite tested games so far.

pfirsich says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Even though it took me quite a while to figure out what I have to too, this game ist actually quite a bit of fun! It's a pain in the a** though to make sure you draw perfectly(!) horizontal or vertical lines.

noKid says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:12pm

Aw, I was aware of that as being sometimes a bit annoying, but not that much :(
The tip is, to succeed in your drag, do it slowly. Even if there are timers in game, you have much time to do it.

But I have to say, honestly, yes, the code I wrote for this function is quite awful :-)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Curious and addictive little game. Nice music as well with a pleasant graphical aesthetic. Me likey. :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13pm

Nice game! There's a definite strategy that's worth developing there.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:55pm

fun game, first game i played this LD and its a good one :)
I agree that it was a little confusing at first (had to restart to reread the rules) but it was fun after that.

Also the graphics are really nice. Good job

DragonKN says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:43pm

quite confused game ! but nice graphics

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:56pm

Interesting idea. Afraid I had no idea what I was doing, however. But that made it somehow appealing...

doos says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:08pm

I think the game could have been a bit quicker to go with the music but thought the graphics were well done.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:22pm

That was pretty cool once I figured out how to play!

By the way, what was the song based off of again? It feels like it was either The Prodigy or something off The Matrix soundtrack but I can't think of the song.

Anyway, fun game.

csanyk says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 1:57am

Played a few times but couldn't figure out how to get anywhere. One, two hops at most. I guess your level generator needs a little tweaking. Good music tho!

singpolyma says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 7:32pm

32bit version would be nice.

valeroth says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Liked the idea but couldnt get very far. Audio and graphics were really good.

One BIG bug though, I thought the game was unplayable for a while. Fullscreening comletely screws things up. I'm guessing youre using absolute window coordinates or something cos clicking the squares meant nothing happened. You might want to update it and get rid of the option to fullscreen

sPe says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 1:38pm

Nice idea and game rules. Like the graphics, but overall a bit too slow-paced for my taste.

strong99 says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:20pm

I like this game and setting. Most of the time the gold cube gets captured by green! :0 Arg!

Jan 6, 2013 @ 4:21pm

at the beggining i thought it will be great game but after few tries i gave up - game is not playable - i stack after few moves, nothing can be done, no more cubes to take over, nothing is changing on map.
i love the idea but you must implement some system that will ensure that use is able to win somehow or make more moves

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]