December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

White Wizard Tower For Sale

by GJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

==How to play==
- The 3 spheres above the towerdoor is your spell buffer.
- Drag and release anywhere next to the tower to to cast the left most spell in the spell buffer.
- Refill the buffer with spells by gesturing over the 9 orbs floating over the tower.
- For example the gesture for the fireball spell is left-middle-bottomright-right-topright-middle.
- The size of the glow behind the 9 orbs indicate how much mana you have.
- Refresh the browser when the wizard dies.

==Story==
The white wizard finds a fine white wizard tower for sale. He buys the tower for a bargain price from a shady figure. That night after a rainy night the white wizard wakes up to noise outside of his window. The white chalk has washed off the tower revealing a black evil tower. And if that isn't enough human knights joined by bunnies, unicorns and goats prepare to siege the tower. The white wizard has no other choice than to eradicate the gathered army. You are the villain now! (So yeah, not much of this has ended up in the game :))

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#272Innovation3.07
#464Graphics2.71
#644Overall2.43
#653Fun2.15
#705Mood1.92
#713Humor1.08
#726Theme2.00
#1189Coolness0%

Comments

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:17am

I think the gestures are a great idea, they remind me of magicka (though without the combination factor). The obviously difficult part is figuring out combinations for spells; 9 points with very specific combinations is much too complicated. I think we need some sort of diagram/tutorial to explain the combinations.

SirJson says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05pm

The gesture idea seems to be good but it needs definitely an tutorial or something like that. My Wizard died without an chance to defend him self :(

Cthu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:13pm

Yep, gestures are impossible to figure out on your own, but I like particle effects!

YopSolo says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:55am

i really like the idea :)
can you insert some image of the magic pattern instead of text based description ?

ilo says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 2:46am

The mechanic is cool, and the game has some good art. It could be improved by teaching the player through unlocking new spells, or by making spells easier to figure out intuitively (could start off with few orbs, but increase after the player survives a number of rounds).

Jan 2, 2013 @ 6:10am

I see a lot of potential here, and I really hope you can flesh this idea out some more. The spell crafting reminds me of the oooooold game "Magician" in a way, and I really enjoy that you have this mechanic.

Unfortunately, with only one spell and one type of enemy it feels like unecessary work to have to keep refilling your spell slots.

Perhaps your spell slots could instead represent a bundle of effects that you want a "limitless" pool of projectiles to have, and those elements have different effectiveness against different monster types?

ArkadyDracul says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:48am

Nice art, but (like others) I can't figure out how to use gesture system.

Rialgar says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 12:58pm

A lot has allready been said, just one additon from my side:
a kind of skill tree would be nice, like starting with a simple left->mid fireball and making it more powerfull the more orbs of the figure I actually hit

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]