December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Trainsaw

by Znoraka - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a train controller, and you don't like when people try not to pay and fraud, but you use kind of extreme methods

You loose when you didn't gather enough money during your stage

The sound can also be pretty annoying, you can disable it with "s"; ran out of time unfortunately :(

Hope you enjoy it :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#315Humor2.68
#467Fun2.63
#503Theme2.90
#527Audio1.74
#611Graphics2.26
#624Mood2.26
#670Innovation2.20
#683Overall2.35
#711Coolness47%

Comments

DST says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:17pm

I made it to round 8 before it got boring, it's a nice detail that the passengers split in two the place you cut them :)

jerrre says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Could also compile this for Java 6?

naughtyloose says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:01pm

I couldn't get your game to run :( Windows7 64 bit here. Any idea why? Starting the .jar does nothing.

arhpositive says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:02pm

I shouted "Bring it oooooon!" when I started my chainsaw. :) Decent game. However, I think I had a bug because my FPS was showing thousands and the background was moving way too fast.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Clearly the author is not fond of railway employees (or train travelers.) OK for a few rounds.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:03pm

Can't get it to play on mac... :-(

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:11pm

@Znoraka: I couldn't get this to run on my Mac. Here's the stacktrace when I try to run the game:

http://pastebin.com/mAv8PZuF

Ping me on Twitter (@youdonotexist) if you end up fixing this/need help troubleshooting on a Mac.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 7:24am

Fun for a few rounds. What I don't quite understand is how are there people still on the train after the first day.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 11:22am

I failed at level 13. You really nailed the difficulty curve : even if the levels are very repetitive, it's fun to gon on because the targets are more and more clever/fast.
I also love the purple jacket ^^

It might be even harder/funnier if the chainsaw had a battery gauge. Mashing the space bar wouldn't work anymore!

ceronman says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Nice and fun game. lots of blood. I enjoyed it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]