December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sir Mastery of Dickery

by Xheis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First Ludum Dare, and It's wrapping up quite rough though i've found it quite entertaining.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Humor3.00
#415Graphics2.81
#489Audio2.00
#494Fun2.56
#526Mood2.47
#573Theme2.69
#620Innovation2.31
#716Overall2.19
#912Coolness35%

Comments

Scott McBee says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:07am

Throwing babies and kittens to get away from an angry mob? Love it. Physics were a bit off at some parts making it hard to jump, though.

uuav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:47am

I think you should rename Unity WebPlayer.html into Unity_webplayer.html right click on it and "copy the public link" then paste it to the web version if you want us to play online !

apophenia says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:47am

Pretty funny. I also had jumping issues. Couldn't get past the house.

uuav says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:49am

nice moonwalk implementation btw ;)

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:08am

Web version doesn't work for me?

Xheis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:18am

I didn't check externally before uplaoding, sorry: https://dl.dropbox.com/s/fp6n78rpho9jnf3/Unity_WebPlayer.html

Also, the public link option isn't available, is this normal?

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:46am

The web version doesnt work for me, but its a nice concept. I like the funny mood.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:47am

Hiya, for the web version, put the .html and the webplayer file in your Public directory, right-click the .html and select Dropbox->Copy Public Link and post that for the URL. But change it from HTTPS to HTTP.

I'm on OSX and I'd quite like to play this!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:48am

Ah, sorry, didn't see your previous comment. Hmm, it should be in the context menu if it's in the Public directory?

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Works great, but I die too much :( Pretty fun tho.

timtipgames says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Webversion just links to a dropboxfolder. Clicking the webplayer html made it download it. Used the desktop version.

Nice game. Loved the fact that you're walking backwards ;) Missed some goats. Also found it far too easy. Somehow I found the weird mix of graphical styles very appealing.

Edocentrique says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:51pm

good concept

ilo says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10am

Very funny premise, but I found it tricky to jump.

Komradus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:47am

Throwing babies at angry locals? Brilliant.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Very tricky to jump. Otherwise good.

dekart says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:31pm

The web version doesn't work properly for me, cannot control the villain, it doesn't move

h.attila says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:44pm

The controls were a bit off, otherwise nice game.

Pitoum says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 9:02am

Too much jumping issues make this soooo hard!
Like throwing babies and cats though ^^

Xheis says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 1:21pm

I know the jumping is hard, but as a heads up- it's functional as it should. There is a 2.5 second cooldown between each jump just to fuck with the villain. It was an attempt at fake difficulty- which I don't really like in hindsight. Plan each jump well, you'll be able to do it.

Dec 30, 2012 @ 1:43am

Good work on completing the game! Knowing how far along the course you were was nice, and I liked the aesthetics of the game (though it would have been nice to have the babies/ kittens consistent with the other characters).

The physics seemed a bit off (both for throwing obstacles and jumping); the obstacles did not seem to affect the mob more when thrown harder and the character seemed to get stuck on objects (making the jump seem unresponsive). This made the house section especially difficult since the foreground objects are blocking view of the obstacles that the player needed to jump over.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]