December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

My Days with the Princess

by 138 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You know those games where the plumber goes to save the princess? This is a tower defense take on that game, but from the villains point of view.

How to play
-----------
Click on the castles to access the menu where you buy troops.

Standard disclaimer: This is my first Ludum Dare entry.

Extended disclaimer: As it turned out this project was a bit too ambitious for me to finish in 48 hours. I ended up scaling away about half of what I intended to be in there and unfortunately there was no time to polish it into an enjoyable experience.

M.I.A
-----
-The Princess
-Tons of fun banter between the villain, the princess and the hero. (Haha... My eyes tear with laughter as I think about all the wacky stuff they'd say)
-A screen for all the interactions with the princess. (No, not that kind of interaction!) Keeping her happy was supposed to be a main part of the game. (No, not in that way)
-SOUND!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#401Humor2.38
#513Graphics2.56
#672Theme2.31
#673Overall2.38
#689Mood2.00
#709Innovation2.00
#753Fun1.69
#884Coolness37%

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:29pm

I wasn't quite sure what was happening here. I think it is a tower defense game? I clicked around a lot and managed to buy some units but I'm not sure if I won or not. Even a short description of how it works would be helpful, but looks like you've got a good little chunk of code written.

mrspeaker says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Hey - is there a better way to publish this - like as an applet or just a jar or something? The "are you sure you want to let this thing have admin privs" warning is too scary ;)

Beerman says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:49pm

Fun little twist on tower defence there.

Gornova says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:35pm

Works fine with Java7 launched from webstart.
Need some sfx and music and a title/instructions screen.

Tip: you should edit game entry and put some text explantions about this game?

Justin Kibbe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:56pm

It may have been ambitious, but it was still a great idea for a game. I think with some more time this could be a solid game.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:27pm

Can't get this to launch on mac osx...

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:33pm

WebStart is deprecated on Mac OS X and on Ubuntu 12 with Java 7 I get the following error:

java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /home/arthur/.java/deployment/cache/6.0/17/76da7c91-495d1ca1-n/liblwjgl.so: libjawt.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary1(ClassLoader.java:1939)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(ClassLoader.java:1864)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(ClassLoader.java:1838)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Runtime.java:845)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(System.java:1084)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:82)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:99)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:130)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer$1.run(AppGameContainer.java:39)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.<clinit>(AppGameContainer.java:36)
at com.jugendmedia.ld25.Game.main(Game.java:82)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:601)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeApplication(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.executeMainClass(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.doLaunchApp(Unknown Source)
at com.sun.javaws.Launcher.run(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:722)

Mista Koo says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Very good presentation and lightheartedness. Now if we only we can see our coins and know how to gain them :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]