December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Minion #4

by cwalter5 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Not bad for my first attempt and the first game I ever made with Crafty.js. I probably wasted the first 12 hours just trying to think of a theme. I also had decided to sleep and not work myself up over this so, I probably got in between 8 - 10 hours each day I was working on this. Oh, I also retaught myself how to play piano, sampled my son for monster sounds, and cursed myself for only having FLStudio and Audacity installed. They got the job done, but compared to some of the audio tools I've used in the past they are pretty terrible.

I was however pretty impressed with the Gimp and although I can't say the textures were fantastic, it held up much better than I had expected.

I'm happy with my progress, but very disappointed that I hadn't created a level large enough to kill my i7 until I started working on level 3 and decided I should actually make it challenging. I don't think I would have been able
to diagnose what was causing issues with crafty in the time needed anyways.

Seems like most web based engines choke when you use are large number of block assets (mine are 16x16) which is one of the reasons I had ended up steering away from Three.js. Hopefully, I can figure out what I'm doing wrong before I attempt another one of these, or otherwise I might have to switch back to Java or .Net to keep things playable.

Finally, this project has made me realize how much I miss doing this sort of work, and how good I could be at it if I got the time. I haven't done any serious recording in 6 years, nor have I done any serious image manipulation either. I just wish I knew of some better free tools as I've been out of the game so long I don't even know what is worth paying for and at $500+ for most serious packages, I can't afford to buy a second rate solution.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#666Theme2.33
#701Graphics1.93
#729Innovation1.86
#759Fun1.62
#763Overall1.86
#1027Coolness24%

Comments

dvdking says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:08pm

It works very slow for me, sometimes it is something about 3 fps or less

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Very slow, I didn't understand what I have exactly to do (I die very quickly), but music are cool, and sfx so funny ! :D

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:59pm

Pretty slow here too. I liked the dialogue and art style though. The burning, it burns!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:49am

Echo people's comments above.

robashton says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:51pm

It's a bit slow, but made bearable if you make the window smaller (consider a fixed size next time)

The collision detection is a bit glitchy too, I got stuck in the walls a few times.

I liked the writing though, dumb minion #4...

monomanio says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:19pm

At level 3 its super laggy. The dialog was fun though :)

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Jumped outside the level :)
It could be quite a fun platformer if you just fix the fps issues ;)

PapyGaragos says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:27pm

hyper laggy, and i don't have any sounds :/ I liked the texts though

gnx says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 11:03pm

Very glitchy movement for some reason. Graphical style is ok, and the text exposition creates interest in what is going on.

Wuhao says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:02am

Level3 is very laggy, if i jump i gets stuck in the terrain, I also fell into enternal darkness. Music is cool though

Dec 27, 2012 @ 10:39am

It's very easy to break out of the level. I fell. A lot. Was spooky doing so though ;)

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:43am

It need some polish before we can see how well the game works, but I like where you're going with this.

I also think I had significant performance issues.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]