December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

CostumeD

by ryan0788 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story:
You're walking down the street when you find a villain costume and put it on. The police then think you're evil and chase you.

Goal:
Avoid getting caught by the police by avoiding obstacles and collecting powerups.

Controls:
WASD to move.
Space to select/continue.

Language: Java
IDE: Eclipse
Graphics: Paint.NET
Sound: FamiTracker and SFXR

Twitter: @ryan0788

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#338Audio2.50
#439Humor2.29
#564Fun2.41
#576Overall2.61
#614Graphics2.24
#681Mood2.06
#723Innovation1.94
#745Theme1.82
#898Coolness36%

Comments

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Cool submission! Not particularly villainous, but I liked the overall design and feel.

ryan0788 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:49pm

Thanks, this is my first Ludum Dare and I went with the first idea that I thought of.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10pm

Pretty good game. Not that evil, and could certainly use a slightly smaller screen height (lost myself off the bottom of my 1366x768 laptop screen)

lando walters says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:10pm

I couldnt play it on this computer. Ill try with my good PC latter......

EatenAlive3 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:29pm

I got 8999 before a raptor got me! D:

I enjoyed playing, thanks!

henrypenface says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:26am

Kicking over bins, How villainous! Fun game.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:00pm

Not really on theme but other than that, it has a nice sense of speed.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:41pm

+1 for goats, +1000 for velociraptors!
Get kinda repetitive after a while

jmaasing says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Sorry, I can't rate, I don't have windows.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Not on the theme, but its nice.

youdonotexist says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:19pm

Is it possible to get a Browser/Mac build for this?

ryan0788 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:11pm

Web version up!

caranha says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:46am

1- PLEASE don't name your file "LD25.jar". This is the fourth java entry that I rated that was simply named "LD25.jar".

2- I couldn't run your entry. Either the web version or the standalone version didn't work. Windows 8 with latest java.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Didn't really have the chase element that was promised until you reached the raptors. Not sure I understood why there were raptors, but I liked them. Liked that you had multiple environments. Largely failed on the theme and the music gets a bit grating after a while.

Hatscat says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 1:20pm

The idea is not bad, i see the goats but not the theme "you are the villain". It miss a button to stop the music.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 3:49am

Hahaha this game is great, it made me laugh out loud quite a few times, which is a surefire way to make me love your game. Was it possible to get past the raptors?

By the way, if you're looking for a better host than dropbox, you might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. I'd love to see this game there!

Jan 8, 2013 @ 1:38am

Won't work on my Windows PC. :/ Comes up with an error message.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]