December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Sammich-Napper

by fussycashew - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the lowest of the low, you get your kicks taking sammiches from the poor people, and delivering them to The Nefarious Dr. Goat. Dr. Goat is very strict, and demands all of his sammiches on time, no questions asked. Can you keep up?

The game is 10 levels long, with a special ending...
I realize it is a bit counter-intuitive to have the controls outlined in a menu that requires you to use them, sorry.
Keyboard:
Shift = Sprint
Space = Jump
WASD = Move
Arrow-Keys = Move

Xbox Controller:
Right-Trigger = Sprint
A = Jump
Left-Thumbstick = Move

I fixed the no-install version, turns out I accidentally commented out the call to the method to update the sammiches. How, I am unsure.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#342Humor2.60
#473Audio2.07
#511Fun2.53
#532Theme2.82
#590Overall2.59
#614Graphics2.24
#614Mood2.27
#627Innovation2.29
#930Coolness33%

Comments

Fritzendugan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:26am

Couldn't figure out anyway to restart a level if I didn't get all the sandwiches, which was really frustrating because I would just have to wait for the timer to go out and then restart. This made stop playing a game a really would've liked to have finished.

The concept is cool. Something to switch up the levels a little more, like bouncy platforms, or power-ups, something simple would've been cool. Clever use of the theme, and I liked the main menu a lot. Music would've been a nice addition. Also, I hate the fact that I have to install a bunch of stuff just to play the game, a stand-alone zip would've been better or better yet some kind of web application. Overall, if it would've been more clear how I can just restart a level, this would've been a good entry.

Marco Jonkers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:26pm

I pretty much agree with Fritzendugan. I don't even know how you're supposed to beat the level with 14 sammiches...

So yes, a restart button would be nice. Or restarting the level instead of going back to the main menu when you die would be nice.

Please indicate the controls of the game before the menu :) I like the slight randomization of the sounds.

tompudding says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:59pm

The opening where you choose your level in game was very nice. The glass breaking mechanic is incredibly satisfying and thunderously awesome in every way. On the downside you missed an opportunity to have a cool "nom nom nom" sound effect for the goat, and as others have said having to wait for the level to end when you messed up was annoying. Also, you slow down when you jump while sprinting, which is weird.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01pm

I agree that a restart button is needed. I was unable to get past the level with 14 sandwiches. I thought the menu was cool. The glass breaking affect was also neat.

Jiyko says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Great game! A restart button would have been nice but other then that good stuff!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Glass breaking is awesome! Please change your entry to a simple zip file rather then an installer, most people do not want to go through the trouble of installing a small game to judge it.

BipolarMike says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:26am

I can't seem to grab any sandwiches...

lando walters says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:31am

Great game. i really enjoyed it, but it needs a restart button :P

dcolgan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34am

Hmm, on my Windows 7 setup I can start the game and can get to the first level, but when I touch the sammich it won't pick it up. Any ideas? I love your opening menu and the glass breaking effects by the way. Would love to try the rest.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:49am

I cannot for the life of me figure out how to collect the sandwich. I touched it, I stood on the sandwich and pressed every button on the keyboard, but I cannot figure it out.

delpes says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Liked the opening/menu very much! As alot of peope i couldn't get past the level where you have to collect the 14 sandwiches (the one where you start between two buildings) Retried 3 times on easy but the fact that you need to replay the whole thing destroyed my motivation. But i put it in my "replay" folder to give it another go later :)

schnerble says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:24am

The speed-platforming aspect is kind of cool, and there are some nice touches - the glass shattering, and the intro menu is interesting. Maybe having the controls right near the very start would've made it clearer, but I don't think that's a big worry - people should really guess the arrow keys :)

h.attila says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 9:10am

I liked your idea, the menu and the glass shattering effects. Too bad you have to restart the entire game if you make a mistake, it's frustrating.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]