December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Caluminator

by therayman94 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If you want to beat it I recommend jumping a lot in fights

Also if you get to it, don't attack the shark. Jump on it

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#198Humor3.03
#202Theme3.57
#386Mood2.74
#393Fun2.79
#441Overall2.83
#489Audio2.00
#507Graphics2.57
#579Innovation2.41
#670Coolness49%

Comments

Falkreon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46am

Clubbing seals straightaway was a good touch. Then kicking puppies. Definitely fits the theme, and the game has some nice enemy ambushes too. I think more time needs to be put into solidifying basic mechanics - the attacks feel slow, and to fight seals I just held the button down. The puppies seemed impossible to kill, didn't really feel like testing that. A valiant effort for 48h.

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:54am

Nice job on the theme...

surpy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:55am

It is pretty fun, until you die and you have to start over really? Let's just say I didn't complete it, but it was fun. I would like some epic background music, but it was nice regardless. I don't know if it is a bug but you can kill the shark you need to ride? I did that and had to restart. I liked it.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:34am

God damn dogs. Killed me twice in a row. I guess I suck. I tried jumping too! I found it funny however that I could basically hop along on the dogs as they ran under me! :D

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:35am

I have never felt worse in my life than clubbing those baby seals, because the sad truth is that it's kind of fun...

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:15am

Them seals are sneaky

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:12pm

Oh gosh the seals x.x

Birchmountain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:36pm

Great idea, loved the clubbing seal part, true evil! A little buggy though, once i was floating in the air and taking tons of damage. But over all a fun and enjoyable game.

joekinley says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Oh man. This Java thing on MacOS is a PITA.
But the game seems nice. Though it seems a bit too slow. Clubbing seals was fun. Jumping on them seemed to help too. But then there were like a looot of seals and they killed me. Everytime :(

Nice game, good take on the theme.

Stryphe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:54am

Nice game! I liked jumping the shark.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:24am

Very villain like indeed

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:14pm

My first reaction was "OOO, a club" then "OOO a seal can I hit it" and then "OMG seals from the sky" so yeah this game is great!!!

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:48pm

More games should have seals raining down.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Fun. I thought the story was great and gfx charming. Wish I could run past seals without having to finish them all off!

grifdail says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Nice job !
The graphic style is prety. Howevers, I disliked the sound that came from nowhere.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:05pm

An interesting integration of the theme on many levels!

When I first picked up the club and swung it I thought it was going to be a delayed attack (because of the animation taking forever to swing) so when I encountered the seals the first time I tried to swing early and let the forward club frame of the animation be when I tried to charge the seals... only to discover it hit immediately after a key press and not like the animation shows. A bit confusing.

Also, running past the seals you can go off-camera where most seals won't follow, and those that do eventually stop going right after you.

Despite that, it was enjoyable. Good job!

brantkings says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:44pm

Nice game! Prety fun.

but as surpy said, playing everything again after death feels really bad.. And it happened a lot to me.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 2:54pm

Seal-clubbing, eh? Now that's evil!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]