December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Pandemic Simulator

by Goz3rr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is the alpha build, the game is basically playable as it is right now, but i'll be polishing it up and adding a few features here and there in the coming hours. The goal is simple, create your disease and attempt to exterminate the whole world. DNA Points are aquired when infecting or killing people, and can be spent on upgrading your disease. The game should pretty much explain itself, but if you're lost, you can always see your current objective at the top of the screen!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1027Coolness24%

Comments

CMaster says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:50am

Pretty solid implementation of the core mechanics of Pandemic, a little lacking in things to do or real choices to make though.

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:00am

Fits the theme well, but I could just sit and watch the virus spread without much interaction, and I won.

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:57pm

I cant't run this. It displays "don't send report" windows dialog.

bushmango says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:57pm

I like how when made my disease too deadly it died off :D Wish there was more to do...

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:30pm

Can't play windows games... :-(

Cyboot says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:28pm

does not work for me :(

I am on a Windows 7 64-Bit OS. It just doesn't start, no message nothing, so unfortunatly no more information.

StMatn says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Nice game! I like the level-generation and general idea. Unfortunately it's actualy easy to win, but besides that, the game is cool.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 4:56am

Unfortunately, the exe would not run.

Jan 4, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nifty map generation. I like the news ticker - "Yahoo clones Spider-man" ...what? Ha ha.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]