December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

You ARE The Villain

by karsyf - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Thank you for playing my game!

Arrow keys or numbers to select answers
Space or enter inputs them.

This was modified to port to Windows after the deadline, but no source was changed. The original Windows link is now included in Source. The only change is a bugfix related to porting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#93Humor3.43
#376Theme3.19
#524Fun2.51
#526Mood2.47
#535Graphics2.50
#553Innovation2.46
#555Overall2.65
#576Audio1.38

Comments

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:58am

I love the effort put into this - the whole intro sequence, and the banter. However, it did get a little slow by the end, waiting between questions. Some audio might have helped. (eg, drum rolls)

J says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Source doesn't exist?

Faust says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:03pm

Well done. :)

Adok says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Good humour! I even managed to win it although I do not know so much about TV shows!

TuxedoFish says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:32pm

It was fairly fun although i think because you had such a long introduction the graphics looked rushed. But when you finally got to the game. The cool slides from one place to another made it look quite cool. But you did a great job at setting up a gameshow. Although there could have been more sounds. But it was pretty fun.

karsyf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:38pm

J: Try now, sorry about that. I didn't realize if I deleted the file from my dropbox folder it would make the link inactive.

Everyone else, thanks for the feedback! This one is getting pretty good reactions from people I show it to offline as well, so I'll probably keep working on it once judging is complete.

If you have any questions about the source or how it works, feel free to ask. All dialog (contents), questions and static backgrounds are done in assets/data.txt . Dialog (timing), the panning, animation timings are all hardcoded in the "Logic State" class on 173.

karsyf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:39pm

I mean "line 173 in game.py"

karsyf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 12:43pm

Sorry for spamming my own comments ...

For source file editing:

If you want to view any specific sequence, change the line "self.state = "INTRO01" on line 178 to whatever sequence you want to see.

The results sequences are my favorites, and you can jump straight to them by changing line 178 to any of the following and running the game.

self.state = "WINMINO"
self.state = "WINDEATH"
self.state = "WINPLAYER"
self.state = "TIE"

lorancou says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:31pm

Not a huge fan, thought the intro was a bit long, then the quizz started and it became even slower. Would have been a good thing to be able to accelerate the talking.

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:31pm

Good take on the theme. Dialogue is annoyingly slow though.

GFM says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:06pm

This game was really slow.
Adding a "skip message" function would solve this, though...

karsyf says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Thanks for the feedback guys, I agree. I didn't have a chance to put it in front of people before the submission and so I proritized more questions over "skip on space" function. That was a mistake.

mokujin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Ha-haaaa, especially humorous, good job!

kannas says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:26pm

it' s an original game, even if too much slow :S

AyCe says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:39pm

Interesting, a quiz game. But it sooo lacked sound! Some speech/jingles/sound effects/music (other than bdum.ogg) would have spiced this up so much! Something else: Don't name it windows_standalone. When unpacking I had to specify the name myself first ^^

TheCze says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:47pm

Nice game, would have been nice if it would be possible to skip the wait time during the texts.

karsyf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Thanks all for playing, and thanks for your comments. I wonder if I can put in a skip button under the typo clause...a typo...in the design doc...

psychopsam says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:04am

Quite fun, and it was well wrapped up and complete. Jokes were lame but funny anyway. It was different from the other games. Well done.

triplefox says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:14pm

I had to bail on it. It started using too much CPU which meant that I couldn't even go do other things while waiting for the dialogue to finish.

GameRespect says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:21pm

Love the joke made by the host, and I love how you personalized the numbers to the characters (ie. number of hooves for the minotaur). The atmosphere could have been improved with the addition of music though. Overall, good job!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:07pm

Can't play windows games :-(

karsyf says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 3:33pm

Hey Rex, what platform are you on? I'll try and get something together.

awppy says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 12:05am

There are two things this REALLY needed: Voice acting (and some more sounds to enhance or relieve tension) and the ability to advance text at the user's own pace. Would have helped the game become significantly more enjoyable.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 11:59am

I really like the transitions and the banter, yeah, etc. Sorely needs a skip dialogue button, maybe a score counter as well.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 10:28am

Fun idea, if the text had been a bit faster and a bit more sound (maybe some music from the SNES game family feud) and e.g. a timer on questions it would be better paced. Questions were on mark and drawings were fun. Somehow the completely static contestants were funny because of the camera focusing. Nicely done.

zompi says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Aaaw, minions are so cute :D And I actually won! Cool game, but the gaps between questions were quite too long and it started to be a bit borring at the end. But the idea is awesome, there should be "Who wants to be a Millonere villain" :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]