December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Munching Mower

by bmoore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Play as a lawnmower murdering the grass around it. But watch out for the trees, they will end your rampage!

Also includes a goat mode where the trees are no match for your munching power.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#227Audio2.86
#477Humor2.19
#684Mood2.05
#693Innovation2.09
#701Fun1.96
#711Coolness47%
#713Overall2.21
#715Graphics1.83
#745Theme1.82

Comments

shatterhand says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:01am

How did you end with 25+ mb on this game? :)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:35am

I feel like it needs a time limit or something. It feels like a sandbox with extremely limited capabilities.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:37am

I like how the mowed grass is bloody and gross.

burtlo says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:40am

I enjoy munching!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58am

This game makes me happy. Particularly the music. I should start playing happy music when mowing the lawn.

Crimsoneer says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:42pm

That is one big file for a small game :P Great audio though!

awppy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:15pm

Just as Crowbeak said, there needs to be something more to this to make it feel like a game. Moving enemies, or a time limit or something. Right now it's a bit lacking, even though the music is delightful

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:45am

I have munched for 3200+ points :) I saw the ennemy at third level but the moving behaviour was very strange and it disappear 5-6s later. I never saw him again in the next levels.

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:55am

I really liked the music, I'm sure that song is gonna be in my head for the next few days. The game was an enjoyable experience, despite being quite simple. Good work for 48 hours.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:28pm

Really a big file to download.

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:39pm

Its a nice game just the hitbox on the trees is the worst

StMatn says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:36pm

Nice game. I love the music. Reminds me a bit of old 8 bit days^^

zairon says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 12:10am

This could be a really great game...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]