December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Alien Rampage

by ahnt - Jam Entry

Help the ignorant earthlings evacuate their planet, whether they like it or not!

Control you UFO using the arrow keys and use spacebar to turn on you tractor beam. Collect as many of the earthlings as you can, and level the city, just to make sure: Nobody gets left behind!

Tip: People in panic evacuate buildings much faster!

We tried to put the player in the awkward situation, where it is not clear what to do, and quite frankly everything you choose makes you the villain. You can boringly hover, and pick up one human after the other, but isn't it tempting to shake skyscrapers and make people flee in panic? On the other hand, you can try to level the city as fast as possible, which is cool, but then you have nowhere to hide from the missiles. Therefor the game also doesn't have a win screen, because you have to decide for yourself if a 365/1 score is great or 42/120 is better. Anyway, you will remain the villain.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#80Audio(Jam)3.33
#101Fun(Jam)3.13
#103Humor(Jam)2.95
#116Innovation(Jam)3.11
#141Overall(Jam)3.11
#155Mood(Jam)2.85
#194Graphics(Jam)3.02
#202Theme(Jam)3.07

Comments

fishbrain says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:38pm

nice! great graphics and cool gameplay backed with cool jazz. smashing buildings is cool too.

Floko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:58am

The idea is pretty original, i like the story, but the execution is a bit off. It`s too hard to dodge the missiles, and it looks like people are floating because there is no floor xD but it is a very interesing idea and entertained me =]

lotusgame says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:11pm

Globaly liked this game
I played with having fun, thats the idea, its good :)
Ashale its a bit hard i find to pickup the people and it took me a couple of tries to understand i whas saving the people and killing them :D

Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:11pm

Nice one. The people have real personality walking around down there, I wonder how they'll like my death beam!

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:05pm

Hehe a smashing game :-)

Fireblend says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:06pm

I loved the concept. It did seem like it's a little too difficult, since the tractor beam will target buildings instead too easily due to the navigation tilt, but I still had fun. Great job!

Jiyko says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Very enjoyable. Would be easier to control if you could use the mouse to control the beam.

Madball says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:20pm

You must add a health bar. I just start collecting civillians, when a missle comes - and BANG! Try again, sir. And if you accidentally crush yourself it's twice as sad. And it seems the hitbox it too big/misplaced.
Graphics and music are great thought.

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:02pm

I keep blowing myself up accidentally when I tractor buildings XD. Fun game!

ahmed.majd says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:59pm

Nice, but a little difficult to control

jackspinoza says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:57pm

I love the music, very cool. I found the game a bit tricky though and I think the space craft is a bit too vulnerable, That explosion graphic is great too.

Team Tibbles says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:05am

Great explosions. Not sure how to play (all I get is explosions). It also seems that you are helping which is not being a villain. With that said exploding things is fun.

Digiraze says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:01pm

I am beginning to think the really fun bit to this game is the explosion. That is really neat.

Some people has said the control it hard, it took me some time to get used to it to. I think it is because of the slide / friction you put on the ship.

Why is there a death score? Is that the people going to the far right and far left that you didn't save?

BTW, I think you can cheat by hiding at the far left or far right, hiding very close to the people and a building, and just keep beaming them up. The missile will keep hitting the building.

lucasncv says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 7:46pm

haha loved the destruction + jazz mood

cwilloughby says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 10:09pm

Super fun. I love when the ship blows up - it makes me smile. If I would have happened upon that, I may have shifted focus to be anchored on that.

Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:09am

I would have made the collision a lot more forgiving, it would have improved the fun factor a lot.

And how am I a villain if I'm helping the people escape?

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:44pm

I like it!

jerrre says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:00pm

I got stuck above the view somehow

Dec 25, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Fun idea! Love the tractoring-mechanics and the music.

Dying and having to wait 5+ secs to respawn is highly irritating though. The highest number of seconds I am willing to wait is ZERO. Also, why do I have to mouse-click to start? nothing else uses the mouse.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 4:41am

HOLY SHIT, I wasn't expecting that explosion!

Loved the mechanics, this was a really fun game to play around with.

TheMelon says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:18am

Love the music and the idea. Tractor beam is very cool. I feel more could of been done to give the play some more depth. A targeting system or mouse control maybe. Great little game though, surprisingly hard.

WiseGAMER says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 10:22pm

hahah nice music and graphics ... it took me a while to realize that the moving lines are the people XD

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]