December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Terra Day Massacre

by sparkymc - Jam Entry

It a little under developed.
Untested in the non windows environments.
Compiled with Java 1.6

Press Enter to start.
Press Enter or ESC to pause.
Use the Left and Right arrows to move.
Use Up to Jump.
Use Down to kill yourself.

A description of the game:
You are a trash elemental that wants to leave the dump. The game's gimmick is that when you die you leave trash behind and you can walk over it. The game got cut a little(read a lot) short the on the final screen each body you left behind falls into the land fill. I meant to have a credit screen here but I didn't get to it in time. The theme is that your struggle to get out of the dump ends up making more pollution.

I apologize if you fall through the platform It doesn't happen on my computer.

Code by Cameron Harding
Art by Anton Thrall

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Graphics(Jam)4.10
#105Mood(Jam)3.12
#188Innovation(Jam)2.72
#240Humor(Jam)2.08
#295Fun(Jam)2.11
#296Theme(Jam)2.28
#300Overall(Jam)2.32
#898Coolness36%

Comments

TehSkull says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:33am

I don't even understand this game. Horribly broken, I fall through almost every platform. Also, there's a point where random dead robots fall from the sky for no reason and the game ceases to do anything interactive. I don't see how the theme fits.

ddionisio says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:35am

Well, the art definitely caught my attention. After I manage to get pass the "smoke" area, I assume that was the end?

sparkymc says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:57am

Yes the area after the smoke screen is the end. I should have put a sign up I know but like I said in the description we ran out of time/too much booze.

Hume says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:24am

I fall through on the screen shown in the screenshot too. The console spits out numbers going up to 7, if that tells you anything.

I'd like to see what your team could do with a little more time (and, how do you say, a little less booze. Focus, grasshopper!)

lur says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:51am

The art is wonderful and the gameplay is really smooth. Wish there was more of it!

sparkymc says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:53am

We plan to continue the game after the dare I think there is a lot more we can do with it. I wish I knew about the goat sub theme it would have been perfect here.

Gazok says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:59am

Wow, I love the art! Shame the platforming is a bit clunky - though I wouldn't call it broken.

fhoenig says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Very cool. I love the drawing style. Very much in the spirit of a game jam in my opinion.

zompi says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Oh I see... I have to kill myself to create "bridges" for another robot... I'm not sure what this have to the theme, but the art style is really insteresting.

sev_inf says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:17pm

Pretty intresting idea, and coll visual style, but game itself is too short. Hope, you'll make a longer post-compo version.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 11:51pm

Excelent ideia!
But I was sad to see it so unexplored! The game ended too fast but I feel this mechanic has a lot to give with incredibly cool levels and platforming puzzles. Of course the art was also great but I think the experience suffered a lot from the lack of sound, a soothing melody would make it all the more gripping!

Cyboot says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:05pm

pretty cool graphics, i loved the drawing art.

The game itself is of course much to short. I hadn't really make sense of it and then it was over, at least I think it was.

But I am sure with a little more time it would be a great game.
Good job nevertheless :)

Pitoum says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:42am

Unable to launch it, too bad I like the art!

Maple says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:53am

This was a really nice start. I'm liking the graphics, and the movement feels smooth. Just needs a little more love. I can feel that it's a bit jealous of your booze.

Tommislav says ...
Dec 27, 2012 @ 7:53am

The graphics was really excellent, but the feeling when jumping was a little weird. Some weird glitch happened on the screen in the picture above where I couldn't get below that crane (robot kept walking forward in the air).

sparkymc says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:51am

@Pitoum what OS and Java version?

OU GDA says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 3:39am

Really liked the artwork and the direction the game was going. To bad there wasn't more time, would have liked to see how you used the death mechanic more. The delay in the jump was a bit annoying (Granted i'm not one for warm-up animations as a mechanic). Also on Windows, if you click out of the game, then click back in, you fall through the ground.

Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:18am

I like the art style here a lot. I got to the end, but didn't understand it until I read your text above. Need to work on making it a game and the jump mechanics, etc, but one step at a time. Work on polishing this up and solving the obvious issues.

nkling says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:09pm

The artwork is excellent. Couldnt figure out how to get past the smoke, is that the end?

sparkymc says ...
Jan 8, 2013 @ 7:14am

To get past the smoke you just keep walking into it forming a platform to get past. The end screen has a pile of trash falling for each time you died.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]