December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Runner of a viod

by Badrpas - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There is a void runner over there.
He got tired of the bad things and he went to jump on the roofs.
Just run and try to get over 50k.

Soryy, I don't finished all things, what I actually want to do. It's my first game for LD and first game with LWJGL.

If you have some problems like:
"Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ben : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0"
then you must install latest JRE:
http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/java/javase/downloads/index.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#338Graphics3.00
#439Fun2.69
#456Mood2.63
#549Audio1.59
#609Humor1.84
#637Innovation2.26
#641Overall2.44
#753Theme1.68

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:19pm

Can't get it to run I'm afraid :( Batch file just opens and closes!

schnerble says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:40pm

It's a little difficult to play - particularly with a black character on a near-black background - but is strangely compelling... the lack of a 'left' key is an interesting challenge.

robashton says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:42pm

I did some running, but it's very hard to actually land in the right place in order to carry on jumping.

I managed to get 50,000 by just holding the right button and getting fast enough to not fall :-)

HardScore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:43pm

the graphics are pretty good but the gameplay is a bit buggy.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Doesn't run for me, it gives me this error: http://imgur.com/Ed6yH

Zener says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:58pm

Nice! I had some fun playing it, I like how fast and smooth it runs.

Mythalore says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Rather fun, the controls took some getting used to but the sense of speed was amazing! I managed 100k, quite easy once you get going.

Klakwa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Yup same thing for me, can't get it to run :/

dementor561 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:28pm

cant open it...

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:21am

Nice first LD game, though I was able to get a crazy high score by holding right and pressing the up button a lot! I'm also not sure what this has to do with the theme...

Cosmologicon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:26am

Sorry, it crashes for me on Ubuntu with the following traceback: http://pastebin.com/vT9PACac

karsyf says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:11pm

I really dig this. I actually think it's more fun than Cannabalt.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wjk8tjk0tt9jhx3/highscore.png

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:33pm

Wow, very challenging. At first it seemed impossible but after a while I got the hang of it and it was pretty fun. The lack of a left key is a great idea although the fact that you don't respawn in a safe place makes an already tough game a bit unforgiving.

Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:29am

Won't run for me(No pun intended!) WinXP

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:08pm

Win7 and I can't get it to run. Command prompt opens then immediately closes.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:38pm

Can't get it to run either, unfortunately.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:40pm

.

Hume says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:17pm

Very cool. No trouble running (win7, JDK 7). I think the top speed needs to be lower though. I could go a very long way just by holding right and spamming jump.

The theme seems absent here. Maybe he didn't pay his taxes or something.

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Couldn't run it.. Nothing happens.

char68 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:15pm

Able to run, although I'm not sure why there's even a right arrow button if you have to move right (maybe for momentum to play a role). I accidentally fell off the side early on and seemed to miss a bunch of the tips, there should definitely be a readme :)

zazery says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:52am

At first I thought the health icon represented portals and that every time I fell it looped me back to the top. The speed you can get is insane. Just hold right and you're a blur.

lotusgame says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:39pm

I like this kind of game ! Simple and speedy ! Too bad graphics weren't better and the theme not really integrated.

Toadpud says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Really fun, great game. I didn't think it really fit the theme though.

Dec 27, 2012 @ 4:12pm

The .jar file and the .bat file both do nothing for me, so I can't play the game.

Neonlare says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 4:54am

Didn't feel to villainous but was fun, did take a while to run and crashed a fair amount :(.

KevinWorkman says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:56pm

This was a fun start, but like others have said, the controls were a bit difficult- for example, did the left arrow key do anything? I managed to get over 200,000 points just by holding in right and spamming the up key. But overall this was a nice start and worked great for me.

By the way, if you want a better host than dropbox, you might check out the free Java hosting I offer at http://StaticVoidGames.com. Our uploader handles LWJGL automatically. Either way, nice work!

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Theme link is not there. I got to 80k by holding right and mashing space and achieving.. Ludicrous Speed.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]