December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Kidnapper

by ZwodahS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The source is found at https://bitbucket.org/ZwodahS/ld25

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#52Innovation3.81
#304Theme3.33
#435Mood2.65
#460Overall2.81
#471Humor2.21
#518Fun2.52
#629Graphics2.19
#831Coolness41%

Comments

TheCze says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:05am

Nice game idea, the tutorial is a bit hidden but once I read it I finally understood what was going on :D.
Whish the game would be a bit slower though, it's hard to plan ahead if the victims are moving so fast.

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:06am

I feel like the best thing you could do to improve this game is put a time limit on it. Or add a timed mode or something. It would add pressure that would enhance the fun. It's already really fun, though. :D

Spelchan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:20am

Neat idea but too difficult for me. If you continue development you should find a way of easing the player into the game. Introduce the victim types one at a time and let players learn how to deal with them slowly instead of all at once.

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:22am

I had a go at this game blind, and I loved the idea even though I'm terrible at micromanagement. Although, maybe a way to score myself and try harder would've been nice too.

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:47am

Thanks :P . Initially I wanted to introduce the victims one by one but I only managed to finish this at 3am(deadline at 10am) :X so I decided to cut features, which is an important lesson I learnt from this participation.

Felix20 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:19am

Couldn't run it (I installed the redist framework)
Windows XP 32-bit

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:24am

you might need .net framework. If it is not a hassle for you
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17718

Jasontiang says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:23am

please advise on the step by step installation guide to this please.. :troll:

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:42am

I realized that I can't even collect a single ransom and it takes too long , so I modified the parameters slightly and uploaded a second version that is slightly easier and enemy is slower.

Logun says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:17am

The game crash quickly sadly (when I clic on the little man icon), the concept looks cool, but I can't rate it ! :(

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:35am

what happen ? when you click the little man icon, 6 "box" will popup and you can click those to choose who you want to kidnap. I would be interested to know what crash it ._.

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:50am

same thing happened to me. The game crashes when you click the "kidnap" icon If it helps, see this screenshot: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/3783503/ld25tkcrash.png

bushmango says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:37pm

Unrunnable :( Windows 8

bushmango says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Turns out I needed this as well: (XNA Framework 4 Redist)
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

schnerble says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:07pm

Interesting idea - but I found it pretty easy, really... just walled up the edges, added loads of victims and then just left them to it. Only one out of about ten decided to go through the edge wall.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:26pm

Really hard, it would probably play better in a more turn based style, or if there was more of a controlled setup time.

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 11:14am

I am actually thinking of making a post-LD version that is turn based instead. If I do I will update here =)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]