December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Balloon Bandit!

by Ed Okonik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the Balloon Bandit in an exciting side scrolling shooter game.

Evade the police!
Avoid the bombs and spikes!
Collect the money!

No goats I'm afraid, but you may spot another mammal lurking in the trees...

This is my first ever LD48 project. I created it using Gamemaker Studio Standard. I used Photoshop for the graphics, sfxr and the voice recorder on my iPhone for sound effects, and Acid Pro 4.0 for music. I also recorded a vlog of my weekend which I will edit together and get on youtube shortly. Enjoy!

Known bugs:
-Collision detection is imprecise
-Issue with the time showing properly once the minutes reach double digits

EDIT: 17/12 - I've replaced the Windows installer with a standalone executable in a ZIP file.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#126Humor3.27
#144Audio3.10
#209Graphics3.38
#225Overall3.25
#263Theme3.44
#346Fun2.88
#379Mood2.75
#457Innovation2.66

Comments

XmmmX says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:09pm

Really good game. But I think there is a bug when you repeatedly press A and D at the same time. Some of the missles just stuck in the air (which allowed me to build a wall in the sky out of yellow dots ^^).
But still a good entry.

Prealpha says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:32pm

Pretty nice. At last "floaty controls" can be said as something positive.
The music track is very low compared to the fx, could barely heard it.
I kept getting hurt for trying to grab the dynamite, some part of my gamer's subsconcious insisted it was a power-up. Hmmm, dynamite...

jurnacsr says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:51pm

That was pretty good! I liked the balloon controls - they felt sluggish enough, like piloting a floating balloon. I like the little evil giggle when you collect stuff - hee hee hee.

ix says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:32pm

Perhaps not the most accurate historical simulation.

berkano says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Completely bonkers. Great fun!

Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Unfortunately a little while in I realised you could just hold W and never die. But before that it was quite fun, if a little tricky.

sev_inf says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:39pm

Congratulation with first LD experience! Pretty nice start.

Maple says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:41pm

This was really great until... I couldn't figure out how to shoot. >< Left/right click for some reason wasn't doing anything. I floated around for a bit though, and I'm liking what I see. The occasional wind pushing your balloon around was cool (would have been cool if it happened to the other balloons too), the music was fitting, and I liked the sound effects.

garygreen says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:40pm

I really liked the hand drawn graphics. Easy to play too. :-)

eli says ...
Jan 3, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Nice entry!! Graphics are great. Downing a police balloon is very satisfying. Gameplay did get a bit tedious after a while.

Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Great job, a fun little game!
I found that I could stay alive forever if I stayed at the top of the screen. Perhaps next time try to dedicate a little bit more time to game balance?
Really liked the graphics, audio, and whole premise. :)

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Very polished entry, well done. Balloon movement, visuals, sounds, little details, very nice.The police balloons would be better if they would not shoot at a regular interval and also try to chase a bit more, only then in lower numbers. Any more than 2 or 3 at a time is too much. I know the trend these days is endless levels but I'd like to see some goal in here too. All in all, very nice.

Datw says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 2:22am

This game is cool, but gets boring quick.

Ed Okonik says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Thanks to all of you who've taken the time to rate and comment.

To those of you who've commented that the game is a bit short / boring: I agree. I had lots more ideas for other levels (towns, caves etc.), weapons (blunderbuss?), and a goal to reach where you kidnap a girl etc. Unfortunately, time was against me so I just got finished what I could.

Regarding going to the top of the screen to avoid damage: This was an oversight on my part! I'd left a gap at the top of the screen without enemies so that they wouldn't be obscured by the GUI text. I neglected to tighten this up before getting the game released. To be honest, I felt like a zombie near the end of the 48 hours and my brain was in shut-down mode. I'm just pleased I got as much done as I did!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]