December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Christmas Caper

by FireHawkSoftware - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Unity Web Player Game

Models created in Blender, Vertex Colors used instead of textures.
Bfxr for sound effects.
EnergyXT for the music, I tried to make it sound a little sinister.

Controls: Left/Right to move, Forward to move faster, space to jump and double double jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#453Audio2.15
#548Graphics2.44
#579Fun2.36
#609Humor1.84
#666Overall2.40
#688Mood2.03
#729Innovation1.86
#750Theme1.77

Comments

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:23pm

Not bad, although it's a bit odd Santa lost all his stuff on a long road, and presents always behind some barrier (or did someone place them rather than picking up the presents?). Feels a lot like Audiosurf.

Cthu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:35pm

It only lacks polish. And IAP-s. Fun game!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:36pm

Difficulty progression is good and so is the game, but I can't say why I'm the villain! Am I stealing the world's candies? What's the purpose of the gift boxes? Would be nice to have some scores also. Thanks!

Codexus says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:31am

Run, Santa, run! I like the snow effect. :D

Winterblood says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:31am

Nice and simple, could use some onscreen scoring and a time limit or forced acceleration to add pressure though!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Add a score count and double the speed of both the run and walk and you've got yourself a game!

h.attila says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Some scoring system would've been nice.

Spelchan says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:20am

Without some type of score or time-limit the game seems kind of pointless. With a bit of polishing this could be a good game.

SamoojaMies says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 12:10pm

Solid entry. Fun to play. Weird music ;). Good job!

lotusgame says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:04am

Games with progression of difficulty are rares in Ludum Dare. Bravo !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]