December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Reverse_Shmup

by EARink0 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have the hero cornered, with just 3 lives left! Place fighters and battleships to finish him!

Note: I had a game breaking bug in the last minute, so the .exe is an older working version of the source code (the version of the source code that matches that .exe is gone).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#197Innovation3.23
#247Fun3.08
#313Theme3.31
#536Overall2.69
#592Graphics2.31
#1027Coolness24%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:18pm

lol fun

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:58pm

Nice, now I only hope the fighter can actually shoot too. :P

jujule says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Nice idea. Fits the theme.

mikemacdee says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:48pm

pretty great idea, as bare-bones as it is. would really like to see an expanded version.

nathanj439 says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:24am

Neat idea.

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Waited in the queue of your download site forever. I'd suggest using Dropbox or something next time.

Cool game. I think giving the "hero" 3 lives was unnecessary since his behavior doesn't seem to change (so the same strategy keeps working). Seemed the easiest strategy was to just make a ton of battleships, and then spawn fighters on the opposite side from him.

Would be cool to see this expanded.

Norgg says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 4:44pm

Neat. Would like to see an expanded version of this too, maybe with a time limit or ramped up difficulty. I'd suggest moving the download somewhere without a queue too, was a bit of a pain.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 6:46pm

The best thing about this is the gameplay balance -- the player acts pretty realistically and it's about the right difficulty to trap him! With some shmup graphics and music and a variety of enemies you'd have a winner. Pretty fun!

Gjarble says ...
Dec 26, 2012 @ 4:06pm

(Note: these comments were made based on playing the game on a Mac using Wine. If you can't replicate these issues in Windows, maybe they were caused on my end by Wine's conversion process- but I usually know when Wine causes problems because the performance is slow or much of the graphics disappear/are cut off. In this case, the game ran fine and looked as it does in your screenshot.)

A solid idea, and with some expansion, I think it'd become a very fun game. In particular, I think it would greatly benefit from some more collision detection. For instance, I noticed that the Battleship can pass through the outer walls and fire from beyond them, presumably out of reach of the Hero's bullets. Also, the Fighters spawn rather quickly when pressing down the mouse button, even if it's only held for a little bit (thus spawning a string when the player might have only intended to spawn one Fighter). I'd recommend changing that so a Fighter can only be spawned if the mouse is not currently over another fighter or something like that- this would also encourage the player to click and drag rather than just spawning in place. Of course, I wouldn't be surprised if you were planning on implementing one or both of these but ran out of time, or if doing so was even what caused the game-breaking bug you mention in the description- collision detection really is a pain. Good job finishing what you did!

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Sorry, I'll not wait for downloads and certainly not sign up for anything. Next time use a service that actually let you download like dropbox.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]