December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

The Worse of Two Evils

by cptalbertwesker - Jam Entry

The Worse of Two Evils lets you have a bit of a wander around in the shoes of two very 'evil' jobs; the Traffic Warden and the Telemarketer.

Of course these jobs aren't evil, but some people would like to think they are.

Very simple game, just mouse useage. Made in GameMaker Studio, with Paint for graphics and audacity for sound.

I'm aware there's a bug where the first choice is chosen without you being able to read it, unfortunately its 1am and I'm not going to fix it!


Wanted to be part of the competition, unfortunately this is the first LD in a while that isn't part of it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1189Coolness0%

Comments

surpy says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:15am

In the windows version you can pick a villain. The start was confusing but I figured it out. In the telemarketer I got a bug in the 3rd call I did lie and I was unable to do anything. I think it was a great idea, playing people who have thankless jobs.

iamorim says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:19pm

How can I start the game? I mean, I couldn't choose the villain :(

Catmoo says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:33am

I like what I'd call the Mr Bean style spotlight on the choose your villain screen :D

My favourite of the two jobs is the telemarketer, poor guy nobody seems to like him when I play, is it possible to get little ticks or is he just that bad at his job?

I also loved how different the traffic warden's job was. You've pretty much done two little games in one! Also love your VO as usual :)
Shame that it's a little buggy but it's still completely playable which is awesome!

hirsch says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:25pm

I wasn't able to pick a villain (Web version <- I have linux + chromium) But the starting screen looks nice ;)

Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:29pm

web version wont work for me :-/ i can't click on anybody

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 6:45pm

couldn't pick a villain on the web version

Gornova says ...
Jan 4, 2013 @ 10:25pm

nice! everyday villain :D

Sestren says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 1:22am

I can't seem to select either of the two villains on the menu.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]