December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Super realistic meteor simulator

by rolfeth - 48 Hour Compo Entry


Press "Start game" after page is loaded to play.

This is game about destroying earth. You are put in the role of an unsuspecting rock flying through space.
One day you got caught in the Earth's gravitational pull. Things start to happen..

It's written in the new Dart language from google and is compiled to javascript.

Update: It now works on Android using touch.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#70Humor3.55
#148Audio3.08
#224Mood3.06
#362Innovation2.88
#415Fun2.75
#441Overall2.83
#492Graphics2.63
#515Theme2.88
#1027Coolness24%

Comments

cardboard says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:44am

Song got a little repetitive at the end, but the game was fun and sound effects were funny. I've been meaning to check out DartLang for awhile now, and after seeing this I'll definitely check it out before the next LD.

Fonserbc says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:29pm

Really fun game. Sounds and music make the difference!

I'll have to check DartLang aswell. Never heard of it.

Tapestry says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 7:52pm

Fun to play! I liked the music and the sound effects were funny.

Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:02pm

I just love the sound effects!

gameXcore says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:15pm

sfx were amusing, but the music was rather irritating. I also didn't feel too much like I was playing the game, and more like I was simply watching it.

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:17pm

SUPER SPEED!!! :)

Music and sounds were great, probably would have preferred keyboard controls. But the game was a blast!

degtyarev says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 8:37pm

I like this game. It's hard to see what's behind you but its pretty funny

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Negative mass! That is a little to crazy for me to grasp...
Just kidding ;)

I enjoyed this game!
You could improve on the music a bit though...
+1 for the nice sound effects :) BOOO!!! :)

Cabral says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:41pm

It's fun, but I found it frustrating how the ball blocks most of your view, making it harder to see, especially since it was hard to see even without the ball in front of you. I think I found a bug, where my ball just disappeared after I got hit by something.

The graphics and sound effects were nice, but the music was just annoying. Good job, over all!

gnx says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:59am

Score 2270.
Very creative approach and kind of engaging to play.
Music is extremely repetitive but somehow it went with the mood :D This had somehow a very good feeling apocalypse to it.

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Cool entry! The earth looked pretty happy that it was being destroyed. :P

lekochen says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:48am

It's a fun game. And I really like the sound effects.

fishbrain says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 7:26am

haha... fun little game. nice sound fx.

Jan 2, 2013 @ 4:58am

The fall takes a bit too long, but it's a really funny game. I like the voice acting, and while the controls were initially tough to get, I found myself getting the hang of it soon enough.

I think it's a little buggy right now, as the space ships can destroy your little graphic without depleting your mass completely, which makes the game unplayble without a restart.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]