December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

EVIL SIMULATOR 2000

by admung - Jam Entry

Take the role of the Evil Lord and fight your way through waves of loser heroes!
ARROWS: MOVE
Z: SLICE
X: SHOOT
C: PUNCH
UPDATE 26MIN-POST: Grass length adjusted to fix visibility of drops and attacks, wall stuck bug fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#34Graphics(Jam)4.16
#120Fun(Jam)3.04
#129Overall(Jam)3.17
#146Theme(Jam)3.38
#171Mood(Jam)2.80
#200Humor(Jam)2.33
#276Innovation(Jam)2.25
#776Coolness45%

Comments

Toadpud says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:49am

Great pixel art. The gameplay wasn't bad, although a bit too hard.

valeroth says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:30am

I'll echo the comment below. Loved the art. Shame there was no audio and the gameplay was a bit nasty. Could have done with some in game instructions as well. Good job though.

OU GDA says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:32am

i like the artwork and simple gameplay. it would be nice if it was faster paced

eerongal says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:36am

Good art. No audio. Second level bugged out on me so I couldn't proceed. A female healer on the left ledge, I was shot with arrows and 'warped' up there. Stuck with '1 hero remains' until I exited.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:45am

Worth it for the fantastic pixel art! Awesome!
The game is hampered by the speed of my attacks, I think. I'm unable to do much other than get on the high ground and shoot my blaster at the tops of guy's heads while they can't reach me. If I could jump and slash with the right timing, I think it'd be fun to move around more.
Made it to wave 6 before deciding I wanted to see the game over screen (there isn't any :)).

Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:15am

Amazing art, fun gamplay, great style. Controls felt a bit sluggish, though.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:34am

Would have been nice with some sounds, even if basic ones.
Looks pretty though.

CappaGames says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:59am

Nice art. I think you should try to make the attacks do more damage, to speed things up.

lucky.luddite says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:57am

Cool gun effects.

Cthu says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:17pm

Among the best pixel art games in the compo!

Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:42am

lovely lovely pixel graphics! Way to go!

_Rilem says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Great looking game.
It's fun to play and it works well.
I could however be pushed up the high bit of the level. But that was quite fun as well. If I stood there, fired my gun and walked out of the screen I would reappear at the other side and I could see my own shots coming towards me.
Overall very good game.

goerp says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:53pm

ggreat graphics, the style and all the (fleshy, gory) particle effects. I also like that the remains of the slain heroes are left. It gets very bloody very soon.
Somehow it didn't feel right that there wasn't any sound. With this kind of polished graphics I had the feeling that my soundcard was broken :)

krutech says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 3:56pm

Awesome graphics. Though i felt i needed something in my attacks which could scale with the waves. Good job nontheless!

Dec 28, 2012 @ 4:38am

I feel like the attacks have a bit too much of a recovery time, but other than that the game is pretty solid and fun!

Jan 3, 2013 @ 7:47am

Echo what others have said. Great art. Shame there's no sound (even sfxr bleeps), and the gameplay was a bit unforgiving. Still, great start and effort for a weekend and I'd keep on with it. Love the idea of being a boss trying to take out the heroes. Consider making the boss character larger than the heroes, toss in some cool downs on attacks and balance the spawning and it'll be a fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]