December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Infected

by Kiyaku - Jam Entry

I planned on submitting this to the competition rather than the jam, but it took way longer than i thought. I had to cut a lot of features out of it to get this demo ready in time, but i'm very happy with how it turned out!

Really looking forward to your reviews! :)
It was a wonderful event, can't wait for the next one.

I'm a bit afraid that this will run terrible on a lot of computers, but i didn't have much time optimizing.

If the Unity Webplayer gives you trouble with chrome, please try a different browser.

Game and Graphics made by myself.
Music from http://freemusicarchive.org
SFX from http://www.bfxr.net/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#63Innovation(Jam)3.41
#80Overall(Jam)3.41
#84Graphics(Jam)3.74
#91Audio(Jam)3.27
#109Fun(Jam)3.09
#136Mood(Jam)2.94
#153Theme(Jam)3.35
#222Humor(Jam)2.17
#854Coolness40%

Comments

tim_u says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:05am

I only get a download message for Unity Web Player. Already have it installed.....

tumoxep says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:08am

Awesome idea and visuals...and music of course.
But how can I disable the first firewall? I hacked the first node, but firewall is still active.

Kiyaku says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:10am

@tim_u: yeah it's an issue with the latest Unity (3) version. A different browser should fix it.

@tumoxep: thanks! The node disables the shield, you need to shoot the firewall to turn it off (has quite a bit of health). Hope this helps :)

Zathalos says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:20am

Yeah, I had to use firefox. The graphics were great. I really liked the model of the virus. Hacking a node was kind of hit or miss, I didn't get if it was proximity based or what. My clicker finger hurts 'cause the firewalls had a lot of health :p Overall, great entry.

LucaPavone says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 9:28am

I got caught up on the same thing as Tumoxep, but I was very impressed by the visuals, look, feel and sounds when I was playing!

Cy4n1d says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 10:24am

Had some graphic problems. The "hacking" game idea is very nice. :-) Like this game.

jayhC says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Nice game and idea! also liked the graphics very much.

rylgh says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 5:25am

I don't think the issue is with the unity version, I think it's because you're hosting it on dropbox.

BlockBrains says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:50pm

Neat idea! Only neat pick would be it's kind of hard to see where you are shooting at :)

loren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:41pm

Thanks for entering! This was fun, I liked the atmosphere and are quite a bit. Nice job, look forward to seeing more :)

Codexus says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:48pm

Nice cyberspace game

Dylan McCall says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 5:54am

I really like the HUD. Cool design.

Graphics were a little hard to deal with at times. Just not very easy to read. For example, the blue arrows between places were almost invisible for me, and the solid grey ground was quite distracting because it felt broken whenever I saw through to the background colour. A bit of flat shading might help to define the actual shapes ;)

It's definitely pretty ambitious, and I played it a few times. The little tutorial near the start was excellent.

Luis Anton says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:17am

Nice abstract game :D I like the idea of the FPS-hacking action, although shooting was a bit demanding! So many clickclikclik! :D

For those experiencing problems with unity, remove the s from https in the url. Kiyaku, you may remove it from the link too.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 12:46pm

the framerate was horrible on firefox, a bit unplayable...
Too bad, the 3D graph were not bad.

chaosBrick says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Usually I don't like Unity games beacause people don't put much effort into them, but I must say that THIS is absolutely amazing. The visual styles are unique and gameplay was fun and varying. A little issue I found was that the defender drones are easily tricked by going in circles around them, which could have been fixed by making them maintain a minimum distance from each other.

Cyboot says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 7:55pm

I really like the concept, nice idea. And graphics are nice too.
But i had some strange Graphic-Bugs. Sometimes it looked as there were holes in the floor.
But good game nevertheless

doos says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:21pm

I really wanted to like this game but I couldnt get into it.. I tried playing for about 20 mins! There didnt seem to be anything obvious about not being noticed while hacking the nodes. Red mode needed to be a bit more effective at shooting things for it to be worthwhile. My favorite mode was greenmode as I like to move fast, especially if replaying things. The graphics and audio were amazing though.

Wan & Manu says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:42pm

Very good-looking game, I like the style you chose for the graphics. The UI, sounds, graphics & gameplay all work well together.

The main downside is that fighting is not very fun, and hacking seems a bit random (I'm not sure what triggers the gauge of the virus getting detected).

haxpor says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 1:26am

It seems I can't hack the first node, I mean I hacked it but it's still active. I kept dying and not go far from that node.
Anyway great graphics + 3 modes are a kill + love effect while we're hacking it!

Houly says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 3:36pm

Really liked the graphics, especially when you hacked a node. Otherwise, I don't know if »hacking« is always a thing a villain does.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 5:17am

Wow, really polished stuff. It's gorgeous and it sounds amazing! Very cool ideas in the game as well. I bookmarked it for further playing post-LD.

Good job.

hadesfury says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Good idea, nevertheless controls are quite difficult to master...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]