December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Crowd Control

by Merigrim - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I managed to finish, though the game is a bit lacking... I now officially hate my alarm clock.

Instructions:

You are Cthulhu. Some pesky humans have decided to wake you up from a nice nap and the only fitting punishment is death and madness.

By being in close proximity to you, humans will go mad. When humans reach a certain level of insanity, they will start attacking each other, and the most insane of them all will join a cult worshipping you.

Your goal is to drive everyone insane in the shortest time possible.

I had planned to include two skills which would vary the gameplay a bit, but a bug that refused to go away when I had 20 minutes left stopped me from doing so, unfortunately. You can see what I had planned in the Instructions menu.

Also, I didn't have time to animate the sprites. Just pretend that Cthulhu is taking large, earth-shattering steps . ;)

(Use the arrow keys to navigate the menu.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#178Theme3.63
#285Innovation3.04
#315Mood2.88
#368Humor2.52
#414Overall2.89
#421Audio2.22
#492Graphics2.63
#494Fun2.56
#670Coolness49%

Comments

Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:31am

This game is very simple, but very satisfying! Seeing the number climb as my minions spread out was extremely gratifying. And even though the sprites weren't animated, I thought they looked very nice.

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 5:46am

I thought the map is kind of big =)

loren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12am

fun!

Xheis says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:12am

Awesome game. Couldn't agree more with Somfunambulist, watching the numbers rise is very satisfying. I did however come across a bug where the sound and music stopped, and the timer stopped. After a period of time, the sound and timer game back but not the music.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:14am

This game is too long, IMO. Should be either shorter (i.e. less people), or more interesting. People need to move onto other games. XD

The graphics were quite average... I think you should aim for a theme, like a restricted palette, or pixel graphics in the future.

The sounds were quite average too. I'm not a big fan of that music generator... it's a bit over used. I don't know if it would be better than nothing though.

And yeah the map is way too large.

Still, good job!

lucars83 says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 6:22am

I would drive someone insane go to a different part of the map, come back and they would still be killing people. Satisfying.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:40pm

I took some satisfaction in seeing the people go crazy and kill eachother...Is that weird?

CireNeikual says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Nice idea, but it needs a threat of some sort.

leafo says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 6:20am

Nice concept. Some way to move faster or charge would be great.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]