December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Kill Butterflies

by Toadpud - Jam Entry

So, I was planning on this Ludum Dare for weeks, but had also been planning on going to a debate tournament the same weekend. I know both of them were coming up I just for some reason didn't associate in my mind that they were the same weekend.

It was too late to back out of the debate tournament, so I went begrudgingly and, huzzah, took first place. I had just enough time left in my busy weekend to cobble together this game in about 3-4 hours to submit to the Jam. I know it may be a meager offering but I am totally thrilled to have finished and submitted something to my FIRST LUDUM DARE! It was a great experience, although obviously next time I will make sure I have the weekend free.

I made the game in XNA.

Controls:
WASD to move, arrows to shoot. Hit as many green things as you can and don't get hit by any blue things.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#256Audio(Jam)1.58
#270Fun(Jam)2.28
#276Humor(Jam)1.84
#284Innovation(Jam)2.16
#288Theme(Jam)2.40
#300Overall(Jam)2.32
#304Mood(Jam)1.95
#329Graphics(Jam)1.29

Comments

Saisaith says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:22am

Program didnt run?

Toadpud says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27am

Fixed that, sorry.

Toadpud says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:27am

Wait, I didn't see how recent your comment was. I originally uploaded the wrong file and that was what I fixed, I'm not sure what problem you encountered.

Toadpud says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:41am

Should now work. Tell me if it doesn't

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:05am

Can't play on my mac, sorry. Mainly commenting so it leaves my page of games.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:24am

Simple, but nice and crisp. I can't give you a high rating, but very nice for 3-4 hours. Heh, it's better than a good few entries anyways. Good job, I hope to see what you can make in the full time next Ludam Dare!

Team Tibbles says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:33am

For just a few hours I think it came out great!

joyboxed says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:11pm

wow for 3-4 hours and your first entry this is quite good =D liked the the mechanics but doenst feel very polished, still cool entry join the next one too =)

Rabbits... says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:26am

Good job on the debate thing and also the game considering the time frame, look forward to seeing you for the next one!

Tyren says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:49am

Not bad for a first entry, but would have benefited from sprites, even if they wre poorly drawn.

goulding57 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:44am

Can't play windows, but congrats on entering and finishing, and winning your debate!

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:50am

It is really fun for a game made in 3-4 hours.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:02am

Love the christmas-themed colours. Makes me feel like I'm controlling christmas lights on the snow or something as I drag them along to hang on my house. Red is always the villain in the red-green combination :(
Congrats on winning debate tournament. :D

angrygeometry says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 2:05am

very impressive for the time it was made in. you should check out glorious trainwrecks :)

Spelchan says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 10:42pm

Well, it is a game and it is playable so not bad for four hours. Audio didn't work on my machine. Nice to see I'm not the only one who uses color blocks for placeholder art. As the art was abstract, I'd have called it Killing Angels to build on the villain theme. Prefer .zip to .rar as zip is built into every OS.

Sheegoth says ...
Feb 16, 2013 @ 1:32am

This looks pretty interesting, and I wanted to download it, but the link is no longer active. Do you think you could push a new one up? Thanks!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]