December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

PANIC BANK

by Shugor - Jam Entry

PANIC BANK

You are The Sassiopath, a street smart villian that oozes with wit. You want things, people can damn well give them to you - which is why you have come to the
Bank. In here you are hoping to get rich; you're not worried if people's lives must be wasted. They practically lie down and
wait to be robbed! This time, though, the patrons of the bank seem to be learning, gaining courage. If you aren't careful, you
could end up at the bottom of the heap!

CONTROLS:
arrow keys to move/aim
Z to jump
X to shoot
SPACE to pause

OBJECTIVE:
Collect a lot of points! Points are awarded by killing an npc and collecting money pickups. When
you kill an npc, they will instantly respawn again, and each time they respawn they will get more courageous. Courage will
affect how they act around you, such as if they attack, when they run away, and how fast they move. You will get more points
for killing a more courageous npc.


GOLD: It is a bank after all! Money pickups, although rare, will give a major boost to your score.

ENEMIES
Cheryl-receptionist: Inbibed with magic she picked up at night school, Cheryl shoots fierce bolts of energy when she gets enough courage. stay away!
Richard-patron: This sad fellow is down on his luck, and just came here for a loan. He got a bit more than he expected.
Rose-Grandma: Grandma Rose is a kindly old soul, however she will turn fierce and attack you with her cane.
Jimmy-youngster: Opening his first bank account, Jimmy is a pint-sized trouble maker thats a bit out of his depth
Mr Prowers-head banker: The oldest out of all of the patrons, Mr Prowers built this bank to where it is now. Until you came along and destroyed it. Nice work


NOTE:
The game isn't really done, not to the level we had hoped for, we will probably update this in the near future, so if you enjoyed this game, follow our Tumblr Dev Blog! http://shugor.tumblr.com/

ALSO JUST NOTICED, score link on main menu isn't working, but we're cutting it so close and don't want to risk it so check out the blog for later updates.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#165Audio(Jam)2.77
#182Theme(Jam)3.20
#190Humor(Jam)2.44
#256Graphics(Jam)2.52
#260Innovation(Jam)2.40
#277Fun(Jam)2.24
#280Mood(Jam)2.21
#291Overall(Jam)2.40
#742Coolness46%

Comments

Prelucid says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:40pm

Funny game. The kid at the top kind of looks like Ness from Earthbound.

Shugor says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Funny you should mention that actually, while doing the enemy sprites our artist made a few pop culture characters on the bases, and well, http://i.imgur.com/CrHsm.png

Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:26am

The game has a good concept behind it there's just several technical errors and glitches that kind of ruin parts of it. For example several times I got glitched between two people and got placed in a loop of being trampled until I died. I really like how after someone is killed a certain amount of times they become more hostile. Nice game!

someone says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:32am

Heh. Not bad. Feels a bit buggy though.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 12:41am

Haha, it is really hard to get away from the top-floor Nessalike when he's got you pinned up against a wall and is kicking repeatedly.

Interesting game, jumping felt really floaty though. Hope you expand upon it! :D

mcc says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:58am

i couldn't figure out how to get past the first area. i also experienced a lot of glitches with the hostages - when i killed them they'd just respawn and start walking around aimlessly and none of them dropped money or anything like that.

Shugor says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:54am

@mcc Ok, I don't know if you read the description or not, but just a few things. Firstly, there is only one area. The game is about trying to rack up a high score, rather than to complete it. Also, the respawning is not a glitch, it is actually the main game mechanic. When you kill one of the hostages, they become more aggressive towards you, making the game harder. The walking around aimlessly, is less aimlessly than you may think. each level of hostility adds a different thing they can do to their repertoire, which may have been what you considered walking around aimlessly. I'll just put the levels of hostility down here, so no one gets confused.

1. crouching down, cowering, doesnt move if approached
2. crouches down if looked at, tries to run away
3. tries to run away
4. sneaks up behind you and hits you, if looked at runs away
5. sneaks up behind you and knocks you over, if looked at runs away
6. sprints up behind you and knocks you over, if looked at runs away
7. sprints from behind and knocks over, cautious from front and just hits
8. sprint from both sides, knocks over from the back and hits from the front
9. sprints, knocks over from both sides

Also, on the subject of money. Money pickups were supposed to be random, but we ran out of time, and so now the only way to get money is to get some every 10 kills. I'm sorry for this inconvenience. I hope you enjoyed the game none the less!

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:46am

Well I had fun killing the boy as he continued to respawn at the top. :D
I think this game would have made more sense if you were going around annoying people and laughing at them and stuff to get points then they start getting pissed and attack you.
I think with more time the idea could have come to something pretty cool!

arch.jslin says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 4:07pm

The spawning concept is a bit hard to get used to, but I think that different level of NPC behaviour is neat. :)

iandioch says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 10:22pm

Love that music! But there wasn't a lot to the game, unfortunately :( The art was good too though :D

schnerble says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Nice style. Good work with the music in particular - though it probably should loop :) The main problem I found was just running out of things to do very quickly. Simply shooting characters over and over becomes repetitive before very long.

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:41pm

You should prevent the player from spawncamping the enemies. I also didn't get how to stop someone to killing me slowly. But it's a funny idea and I hope you keep working on it.

RawBits says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 1:43am

Nice bug collection. People trying to go into the wall, stuck into people and other stuff, die with full health... Also that jump is killing me and music is very loud you need a volume control.

I couldn't find any money sadly just a lot of glitching out. :( The idea is good though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]