December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

devil guy

by patrickgh3 - Jam Entry

This is a small prototype-ish thing I made within the first 12 hours. I quit working on it because I couldn't settle on a way to expand upon what I had so far. I'm submitting it for the Jam because the deadline for the Compo slipped my mind yesterday. It's nowhere near finished, but I made it for Ludum Dare, so I figured I may as well submit it. Thanks for playing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#175Innovation(Jam)2.80
#202Mood(Jam)2.69
#218Graphics(Jam)2.87
#228Theme(Jam)2.93
#271Fun(Jam)2.27
#291Overall(Jam)2.40
#1189Coolness0%

Comments

se1by says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:31am

The idea is nice, but you need to expand it, there is not much to do in there :/

amassingham says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:02am

Idea is sound - there could be something great lurking under there.

Casino Jack says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Really nice mechanic, shame you didn't take it further.

amidos2006 says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:43am

Nice idea but wants some gameplay elements :)

LemonTree says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 12:31pm

I like this idea. Very similar to our gameplay idea.

dev_redant says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Great mechanic idea. I'd love to see this game expanded! :D

Hatscat says ...
Dec 22, 2012 @ 9:23pm

funny, but too short

monomanio says ...
Dec 30, 2012 @ 2:52pm

A nice mechanic you got going here. If only there was more.

Colapsydo says ...
Jan 2, 2013 @ 11:41am

This is a really nice prototype. It would have been great to see what was your final project.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]