December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Against All Good

by Herku - 48 Hour Compo Entry

[I'm not 100% Shure if this counts, but i wrote this game. It simply doesn't start as executable Jar file... ._. I hope i can fix that ASAP but I'm simply to tired now.] // Fixed

Its a 2D Topdown Shooter. The Goal is to not die and reach the end of the Level. I added some features, but i didn't had enough time to use them as they should be used for maximum effects. I also didn't have time to implement my little story so some sentences might not have any context...

Use the arrow keys to navigate the ship and press/hold space to fire. Don't touch the walls or get hit by a laser, otherwise you will loose healthpoints. Don't fall back and leave the screen, this will also make you lose.

Edit: I think I fixed this. I had some problems with the natives.
Edit2: Added instructions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#713Graphics1.85
#729Fun1.83
#731Overall2.14
#750Theme1.77
#753Innovation1.67
#948Coolness32%

Comments

Goz3rr says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 8:12am

Can't run it:

C:\Users\Wisse\Desktop\hendrik.niemann.ld25\hendrik.niemann.ld25>java -jar aag.j
ar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Unknown Source)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoa
der.java:58)
Caused by: java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: no lwjgl in java.library.path
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:73)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:66)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:95)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:112)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:132)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer$1.run(AppGameContainer.java:39)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.<clinit>(AppGameContainer.java:36)

at game.AgainstAllGood.main(AgainstAllGood.java:14)
... 5 more

Joncom says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:57am

Nice work. Once I figured out the controls it was very fun :)

Rex Peppers says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:46pm

Cant get it to launch on a mac...

Lashiz121 says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:48pm

pretty good game a little bit dull but thats ok

kevincorrigan says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 2:56pm

seams pretty good:) Is there supposed to be more than 2 enemies? that's all the enemies I got, but other then that it was good, it runs nice and smooth.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 8:21am

Won't launch on mac.

Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:09am

Doesn't run on Linux either. I'm getting this :

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: game/AgainstAllGood : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
at java.lang.Class.forName0(Native Method)
at java.lang.Class.forName(Class.java:247)
at org.eclipse.jdt.internal.jarinjarloader.JarRsrcLoader.main(JarRsrcLoader.java:56)

Dec 21, 2012 @ 6:10am

Sorry can't edit, but if I can help debug this, you can ping me on twitter.

Herku says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 8:08pm

The natives are making problems... The point is that it should detect your system, then chose the right native and give me the path of the native dir. The process works fine on Windows...

Dec 22, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Unfortunately, the "Linux" version isn't working either. Same error. I'm using Java 1.6 on a 64 bits system. Sorry it's still not working :(

Dec 24, 2012 @ 1:02pm

It's too slow... I'm just sitting around waiting for enemies to appear. I like the balance with diagonal fire, though it makes it a bit easy to hit enemies while avoiding their fire.

h.attila says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:08am

Way too easy, there are far too few enemies.

madpew says ...
Jan 1, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Sadly no audio. Spread makes it easy to dodge. Besides to that, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]