December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

StickThief

by Zaxuhe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Trailer/Video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=idJX80iQW_o

You are a thief and you have to steal everything of some homes, by everything I mean everything except walls and windows.... and well people, the people that live in the house can't see you or you will lose and will have to try again

Rules:
* You have to pick everything including furniture (tables, chairs, etc...)
* If there is something on top of another object, you have to pick the object at top first
* After picking an object you won't be able to pick another object for a little while
* If you are on the watching zone/area of a resident you lose and you will have to start again

Instructions:
* Arrow keys to move
* Control key to pick up an item

Notes:
* On level selection screen, select the house you wan't to thief
* When you finish a level you will be taken back to home screen, just click on start and you will see the next level unlocked
* Flash build coming soon trough flascc but I'm a little worried about performance (actually is running now in flash, thanks to protonsdk, but I have to do some speed tests)

This has been created with proton sdk
"This product includes software from the Proton SDK developed by Seth A. Robinson ( www.rtsoft.com )"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Audio2.79
#260Innovation3.09
#272Humor2.81
#277Mood2.95
#279Theme3.42
#353Overall3.00
#372Fun2.83
#481Graphics2.67
#742Coolness46%

Comments

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:46am

I love the epic sounding music for such a simple task as stealing chairs and furniture! Strangely interesting idea.

dan.jeffrey says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:49am

Controls need work

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:51am

I like the music, but felt it didn't fit the game very well. You have a solid concept for a game here, but the level designs could use some work. If the people occasionally turned or something, it would add more excitement to the game. Overall, it's a solid entry. :D

jahlgren says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 4:15pm

It was ok. I think it would have been more fun with non isometric view (for better understanding where the guy would move) or point and click to move.

bach says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:26am

Quite a nice idea. I loved how you just steal everything :) Wish there would have been a bit more polish overall - controls & graphics felt a bit rushed. That being said, still enjoyed playing it!

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:32am

I absolutely love that you steal their whole house part by part and they don't even react.

suve says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 12:33am

Hey, nice job! I liked the music and the graphics. The controls could use some work (like being able to hold keys) and people would be more of a challenge if they had some patrol routes, instead of just walking from side to side - but it's quite enjoyable overall.

h.attila says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Good idea. The music didn't fit the game very well, and it could've used some kind of notification when the timeout for stealing stuff is over.

Retrac says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 3:34am

The game concept and the music were good, although the controls and movement were a little difficult to get used. I definitely think the option to use a mouse would have helped. Well done!

Cabral says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 9:42pm

It's original, but there's something that doesn't feel right about it. I think it's that I could get used to control an isometric character with the arrows in such short time, plus the delay between each move in a game in which you have to be fast. There's a couple of things I'd like to point out:

- I can't stress this enough: if you game uses a keyboard, SO SHOULD BE MENU. Don't mix them up, it's unprofessional, annoying and a barrier to the player's learning. If the game requires you to click "Start" with the cursor, the first thing the player will try is to move the character with cursor.
- The game should have some instructions.
- Don't make the player return to the menu screen between each level. This is especially bothersome because of the inconsistent input methods I mentioned above.
- The music was sort of annoying, but good job on adding a "mute" option. IMO, sound effects should be prioritized over music, because they have a smaller chance of being irritating, are easier to make and provide feedback rather than being static background.
- You misspelled "Thief" in the title screen :P Remember that you're allowed to fix typos after the deadline.

Good job over all, though I wish the controls didn't feel so sticky. Again, I can't put my finger on how you'd go about fixing this, because the game's design seems fine.

Neonlare says ...
Jan 6, 2013 @ 5:02am

For stealing such basic amenities, the music was very, very inspiring. Awe-Inspiring. Oh, the game was a hoot as well :D.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]