December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Den Of The Beast

by NukeTheBunnys - Jam Entry

Damn adventurers, always trying to steal your treasure. As Bal'nok the hell goat, you must roast your adversaries and defend the treasure

It was fun stuff making this.
Unzip it and run the EXE.
WASD to move, space to breath fire - try and defend the gems as long as you can.

As far as I can tell it will not work on Windows XP, havn't been able to figure out why

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#60Humor(Jam)3.24
#278Theme(Jam)2.48
#288Mood(Jam)2.10
#293Fun(Jam)2.12
#301Innovation(Jam)2.04
#313Overall(Jam)2.12
#314Graphics(Jam)1.92
#711Coolness47%

Comments

Blodyavenger says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:10am

Ok, that goat made me laugh. It's a GIANT GOAT!!! against those little adventurers. You should make a goat move when spitting fire, maybe a bit slower but not stopping it. It's taking too long. Also, it would be nice have a kill counter of some sort. Anyway, too bad you didn't take game further from here.

Congratiulations on entering and finishing LD ;)

RHY3756547 says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:34am

this is the best game

Tyren says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:46am

Not bad at all, sadly, the goat seems underpowered. I thought it should move faster, and be able to move when breathing!

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:47am

I get an error box "DenOfTheBeast is not a valid Win32 application"

Spelchan says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:52am

Personally I don't consider protecting your stuff from thieves to be evil. I think the goat is mis-judged because of it's halitosis problem and isn't actually evil.

dalbinblue says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:56am

Bal'nok is a bit slow which makes it quite hard to defend both gems given the number of enemies.

halemaster says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:08am

I beat all the adventurers and no more respawned or anything. Otherwise was really good and would have played for much longer if the soldiers kept respawning.

NukeTheBunnys says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 3:57am

I wanted to make it so if you killed all the adventures it would start a new wave where the adventurers would move faster, but as is the case for all game jams - ran out of time

Quantumvm says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 4:11am

Ok what made this game was the giant goat. THAT BREATHES FIRE HELLZ YES well done sir well done. I mean it could have used a score count or something... only to make it even more lovely than it already is.

Peping says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 6:16pm

Not being able to move when attacking is an interesting feature. But the game doesn't feel complete - you should add background, texts describing what happens in the game, sounds and music.

MrEvilGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 5:39am

The goat should be able to fly.

Dec 19, 2012 @ 8:40pm

i would like to move while atacking...game is very simple,, you should add something more because its boring

psychopsam says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:00am

Great idea, and fun while it lasts but it got laggy when 4 or 5 humans entered and became unplayable. Suggest finding that bug obviously and release a post-comp version, but also reduce the time spent with fire coming out the goat.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 23, 2012 @ 1:34pm

That goat has an evil grin.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 28, 2012 @ 12:49pm

The app doesn't work on WinXP because it's likely a 64-bit app, which will not work on normal XP installations. Recompile as a 32-bit app and it should be fine.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]