December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Stealth Slime

by koredozo - Jam Entry

Submitted as a Jam entry because it wasn't finished in time for the compo. I believe it follows the compo rules otherwise.

This is my first HTML5/JavaScript (CoffeeScript, technically) game so there are a lot of known bugs.

* The music only plays in WebKit browsers (possibly only in Chrome.)
* The music freezes up semi-frequently, especially if you tab away from the game.
* Kills and deaths occur at oddly large distances (a square or two away.)
* The hero does not have a real pathfinding algorithm and will occasionally do things like walk right past you or go on alert repeatedly without moving. He compensates for this by walking through walls once in a while.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#121Innovation(Jam)3.08
#138Fun(Jam)2.96
#141Theme(Jam)3.41
#163Overall(Jam)3.00
#190Mood(Jam)2.73
#201Audio(Jam)2.48
#212Humor(Jam)2.24
#268Graphics(Jam)2.46

Comments

kerneltrick says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:38am

too often the hero will spawn in a section of map that is inaccessible.

Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:41am

The hero glitches when you start in front of him and move through him, it somehow gave me a kill every time. Overall, it was a fun game. I personally enjoy stealth games and while it was a bit fast-paced I like the concept great job.

CoffeeOnimal says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:42am

I ended up killing the hero about 247 times, but didn't really attack him, just touched his tail.
Pretty solid entry, just needs a few bugs cleaned up.

DaGamesta says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 2:44am

Amazing programming for telling what you can and cannot see! Also, I had quite a bit of fun with the concept, I enjoyed it. A bit simple for a Jam entry, but it's currently the best out of the five games I've rated so far.

ananasblau says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:11am

Hey that's a lot like my game :)

Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:13am

Loved the concept and the visible area/hidden area thingy. Great job!

Mythalore says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 10:50am

Good gameplay but could use better graphics.

Per says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 1:31pm

This is quite a fun game :)
To get audio working better, you can use soundmanager 2
Nice shadows, it really improves the game a lot.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:29pm

This is a nice game, shadows look good, and level design brings that thrill of hiding around corners and having to relocate a lot :D

Dec 21, 2012 @ 12:26am

Very cool idea, a good take on the theme and a decent stealth game that wasn't frustrating. Nice work!

davidwparker says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:45pm

Neat concept. I like the use of light/vision.

impulse9 says ...
Dec 21, 2012 @ 5:49pm

Could use a twist with the gameplay, but otherwise very cool! Nice visibility effect.

azurenimbus says ...
Jan 5, 2013 @ 6:57pm

Nicely done, I had a blast with this little game. I feel it can be improved somehow, but I can't figure out a suggestion to give you. I definitely like the mechanics, the way you can see where the hero is going even though you can't see him, and the way you have to win by coming from behind. But there's something missing for this game to reach its full potential, I think. I can't figure out what it is.

Perhaps actually developing levels that become harder and require a different type of skill / insight each time, instead of randomly generated.

But still, really fun game, good job!

Sheegoth says ...
Feb 16, 2013 @ 1:21am

A pretty cool game! The light music and sound effects really made it shine (the graphics weren't bad either). I enjoyed how parts of the map appeared as you explored it; that was a cool feature. My only complaint is that the frame rate staggered a bit for me. Aside from that, solid game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]