December 14th-17th 2012 :: Theme: You are the Villain

Back to Browse Entries

Split 'Em Up

by chambers - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I didn't have time to finish it or properly test it. I hope it's playable. Sorry for the absence of instructions and sound. There was supposed to be another kind of trap in the mansion but it was so glitchy that I decided to remove it in the last minute...

============
How to play:
============

Your goal is to scare those meddling kids away from your mansion.

If they are sticking together, they won't be scared so easily and it will be a hard task to make them run away.

But if you manage to split them up and make each of them wander alone in the mansion, their courage gauges will slowly deplete by themselves.

Click on the traps to make them run in different directions or fall through floors.

Making the kids flee through windows will grant you some extra points.

============

Thanks a lot to Helo (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-25/?action=preview&uid=18165), Picchi and Preto for the company and support during this weekend :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#28Humor3.81
#33Theme4.07
#42Fun3.70
#51Overall3.71
#69Innovation3.70
#78Mood3.44
#131Graphics3.63
#694Coolness48%

Comments

heloheu says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 3:28am

Not Scooby Doo :)

NuSan says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:44am

Interesting game, prety graphics. With only 2 traps, it a bit limited but it's funny to see them scarry ^^

Husky says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:52am

I like "Boo game" :)
If the kinds of traps mould be more is more fun.

Smaxx says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:16pm

Very nice game... At first I didn't understand the ghost, but that's me sitting in a control room? Lol! Really nice game.

rinaka says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 2:50pm

I had a lot of fun playing this game. The visuals of the different teams of meddling kids are great. Seeing them scared and running through the windows is very funny -- and then you think "oh wait, I AM having fun at scaring kids and making them jump from the third floor."

Congrats also for the game interface: it clearly presents the information needed by the player.

I know it was a matter of time and I think your priorities were right but I can't help thinking about how this game would feel with some sound effects -- especially for the scared kids :)

Floko says ...
Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:13pm

Loved this game! it's my favorite so far =]

It's nice to see brazillian developers doing such a good job :]

Sou amigo da Amora de do Santo, da miniboss,e já ouvi falar da catavento! continuem o bom trabalho!

Dec 17, 2012 @ 11:50pm

I wasn't very good at it, but I liked the overall idea and mechanics, as well as the Scooby vibe.

raarlac says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 1:40am

Great game! Very original concept

lotusgame says ...
Dec 18, 2012 @ 7:50am

I love the game.
Very very good 48h game :)

Dec 18, 2012 @ 11:00pm

I think the idea of having to split up the group is a really good one, definitely could be developer further. Nice graphics too

Dec 19, 2012 @ 9:10am

This was a very cute entry, given the reference to a certain popular kid's cartoon. Even without sound this was kind of neat, and I too wish you'd had the opportunity to make more traps for the kids.

I did not find it apparent that there were any floor traps, and only found this out after reading your description. I think there might have been a way to make them more obvious.

DragonKN says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 3:26pm

nice job =)

FrederickK says ...
Dec 19, 2012 @ 6:07pm

Very hard, but very ingenious too.
I loved!
+ love for the Scooby Doo reference!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2012 @ 9:02pm

Kind of tense keeping an eye on all those meddling kids! Funny vibe and original idea.

Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:34am

So awesome! Playing as a Scooby Doo villain! Their morale dropping by the second inside my scary mansion, bwahaha!
This is brilliant!

Komradus says ...
Dec 24, 2012 @ 5:07am

Really fun game, kind of easy to miss-click the trap doors but once you get the hang of it it's easy to be playing for a while.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 8:22pm

Cute! Good idea, and gameplay seems pretty balanced. I love the critters that come with me. :) Could have benefited from some audio. Yabba dabba boo!

High score 15,400!

brantkings says ...
Dec 25, 2012 @ 10:57pm

Sensational game, and premise! Great use of the theme, and the goat. Had fun with it. Ou seja, bacanasso!

Dec 27, 2012 @ 11:50pm

Really cute game!
I loved the variety of kids and animals.
Great job!

ddionisio says ...
Dec 29, 2012 @ 7:31am

I'm really liking this game. I like the art, especially seeing different types of groups...and a completely different animal side-sick. Great game mechanic!

Jan 6, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Cool game! one of the best entries I've played so far. A version with more interactive objects would be awesome (closing/opening windows/doors, blowing curtains with wind, turning lights on/off, etc). Absence of music/fx is certainly a pity but we all understand that is a side effect (as in a lot of other entries) of LD's time constraint. Kudos on an amazing entry!

Waynetron says ...
Jan 7, 2013 @ 7:09am

Love the crab!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

REMEMBER: The “Theme” category is only for the main theme (You are the Villain). Don’t penalize for not using Goats.

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

We’ve identified the problem, and should have the page caching bugs fixed for next Ludum Dare.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]